{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference And City Of San Jose Selected To Host 2013 NCAA Men's Basketball First & Second Round

Sept. 21, 2009

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee announced today that the West Coast Conference, in conjunction with the HP Pavilion at San Jose, California, was selected to host first and second-round games of the 2013 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship. The WCC partnered with the San Jose Sports Authority and HP Pavilion at San Jose to earn the bid.

The 2013 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship will be an extraordinary event as it marks the 75th Anniversary of the championship.

"The West Coast Conference is proud to be selected as a host for the first and second rounds of the historic 2013 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship," said WCC Commissioner Jamie Zaninovich. "We look forward to working with our partners at the HP Pavilion and the San Jose Sports Authority in hosting a first-class event and providing a memorable experience for the student-athletes, fans, and the Bay Area basketball community."

The WCC, which is hosting an NCAA Men's Basketball Championship event for the first time in conference history, will host the first and second rounds at the HP Pavilion on March 21-23, 2013.

"On behalf of the San Jose Sports Authority and the City of San Jose, we are thrilled to be teaming up with the West Coast Conference to welcome the NCAA back to San Jose for the 2013 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship," said San Jose Sports Authority Executive Director Patricia Ernstrom. "We are pleased that the NCAA has once again acknowledged the City of San Jose as a destination that excels at hosting this tournament."

In addition to the WCC, Pepperdine University, a West Coast Conference institution, was also selected as a host for the 2013 championship. Pepperdine will host the West Regional at the Staples Center in Los Angeles on March 28-30th.

Several cities and venues with significance in the annals of championship history were selected to host preliminary rounds in 2011, 2012 and 2013. In all, the committee selected 36 cities over the three-year period. Additionally, three future Final Four host cities were designated to host a regional round a year prior to in order to assist in Final Four operations planning.

"Having recently completed the Final Four site selection process, the committee knew this would be a challenge," said Dan Guerrero, director of athletics at UCLA and current basketball committee chair. "We received some 70 bids and each city could, justifiably, provide a quality championship experience for the student-athletes. Interest remains incredibly high in hosting the championship."

Recognizing that 2013 is the 75th anniversary of the championship, the committee selected venues and cities which have served as the backdrop to great tournament moments such as North Carolina's triple-overtime win in the 1957 championship game in Kansas City, Villanova's upset of Georgetown in Lexington in the 1985 title game, the Duke-Kentucky classic in the 1992 East Regional final in Philadelphia, and hundreds of other plays, players and games that are deep-seated in tournament history.

Auburn Hills, Austin, Dayton, Kansas City, Lexington, Philadelphia, Salt Lake City, and San Jose were selected to host first- and second-rounds, and Indianapolis, Los Angeles and North Texas were chosen for the regional rounds. Auburn Hills and San Jose both earned bids for the fourth time since 1997, while Austin was selected for the sixth time since 1981. Los Angeles has hosted the championship 11 times, including two Final Fours, but has not served as a host city since 1994, while North Texas will prepare for the 2014 Final Four with a regional at Cowboys Stadium.

Kansas City, which has served as host to 28 tournaments, including 10 Final Fours, was also selected for 2013. With Indianapolis, Lexington, Philadelphia, Salt Lake City and Final Four host Atlanta having each staged more than 75 tournament games, the 2013 championship will feature seven of the top nine cities for most tournament games hosted of all time.

Dayton, which has hosted the opening round game since its inception in 2001 and will do so through 2013, has hosted 23 times in the tournament's history. One regional site will remain unnamed while details are being finalized.

The 2013 Final Four will be played in the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia."It's no accident that cities which have been part of the rich history of this championship were selected to return in 2013," said Guerrero. "The 2013 championship will be a nationwide celebration of 'March Madness,' its tremendous history and the fan following of one the world's best sporting events."