{{ article.title }}

BYU's Tyler Haws, Gonzaga's Kevin Pangos Named to Naismith Trophy Early Season Top-50

Nov. 21, 2013


ATLANTA, Ga. – BYU junior guard Tyler Haws and Gonzaga junior guard Kevin Pangos are among the 50 candidates announced Thursday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club for the Naismith Trophy Early Season Top-50 as basketball's Player of the Year. 

Both Haws and Pangos were named to the Wooden Award Preseason Top-50 watch list. This marks the second consecutive year Pangos has made the Naismith Trophy watch list. 

Haws is one of the top-returning scorers in the country. Last season, he was seventh in the nation and led the West Coast Conference in scoring at 21.7 points per game. Haws became the first BYU sophomore and only the fifth Cougar in program history to finish among the nation’s the top-10 in scoring. 

In addition to the Lute Olson Preseason All-America honors, Haws was also named to the College Sports Madness Preseason All-High Major First Team. 

Pangos was an All- West Coast Conference first-team pick a year ago, averaging again the quarterback, averaging 11.9 ppg, 2.7 rpg and 3.3 assists/game. The native of Holland Landing, Ontario, shot a team-leading 41.7 percent from 3-point range on 78-for-187. He was the only player to start all 35 games.           

Pangos played last summer for the Canada’s Development Men’s National Team (DMNT) that competed in the FISU Summer Universiade in Kazan, Russia, also known as the World University Games. Canada finished fourth in the tournament with a 6-2 record after falling 78-68 to the Russia Federation in the semifinals. 

This marks the second straight year the West Coast Conference has multiple players on the early season top-50 list. Last year Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary’s) and Kevin Pangos (Gonzaga) appeared on the initial candidate list.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.  Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983. 

The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game. 

With assistance from BYUCougars.com and GoZags.com