{{ article.title }}

Golf Travels to Santa Barbara for Pacific Coast Intercollegiate

March 31, 2006

Whats Up Next:The Saint Mary's men's golf team will return to action in the in the Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Tournament hosted by UC Santa Barbara at the Rancho San Marcos Golf Course in Santa Barbara on Monday and Tuesday, April 3-4. The tournament will be 54 holes, 36 on the first day and 18 on day two.

Who's playing for the Gaels:Head coach Scott Hardy will take five players to Santa Barbara to compete in the team and individual field. For the ninth time, Hardy with have the trio of Chadd Cocco, Mike McRae and Josh Kelley making the trip. Brett Mormann will make his sixth tournament appearance of the spring and freshman Hans Olson will compete in his first collegiate tournament.

About the Course:The Pacific Coast Intercollegiate is being played at Rancho San Marcos for the first time ever. Rancho San Marcos Golf Course is a 6,800-yard, par 71 golf course. Three of the last four PCIs held at Lompoc¹s La Purisima Golf Course and the fourth was at Santa Barbara's Sandpiper Golf Course.

The Field:In addition to UCSB, the tournament field will include Big West Conference rivals UC Irvine, UC Riverside, Cal State Northridge, Long Beach State, and Pacific. The remainder of the 16-team field includes a Pac Ten school (Washington State), three programs from the Western Athletic Conference (New Mexico State, San Jose State and Idaho), one from the Mountain West Conference (Wyoming), three from the West Coast Conference (Saint Mary's, Santa Clara and San Diego), one from the Sun Belt (Denver), one from the Big Sky Conference (Sacramento State), and one future Big West member (UC Davis).

Schools in Tournament in Order of Golfweek Ranking (Ranking):

1. Denver (50)2. Santa Clara (57)3. UC Irvine (61)4. New Mexico State (64)5. Long Beach State (70)6. San Diego (83)7. Saint Mary¹s (88)8. Washington State (92)9. UC Davis (123)10. Wyoming (128)11. UCSB (142)12. San Jose State (157)13. Idaho (162)14. Cal State Northridge (169)15. Pacific (177)16. UC Riverside (190)17. Sacramento State (242)

About the Tournament:The teams will play a practice round on Sunday, April 2. The 36 holes on Monday, April 4 will have an 8:15 a.m. shotgun start. The final 18 holes on Tuesday, April 5 will have a split tee start from 7:20 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. In 2005, UC Davis won its second straight PCI title with an eight-shot victory over Washington State. The Aggies Louie Bishop won the individual title in the tournament at La Purisima. Past individual champions have included Craig Stadler (1973), Scott Simpson (1977) and Duffy Waldorf (1985).