{{ article.title }}

San Francisco Leads by Four Strokes After Opening Round of 2015 WCC Championships

April 13, 2015

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


SOMIS, Calif. -- San Francisco opened the 2015 West Coast Conference Championship with a flourish and owns a four-shot lead against San Diego (+19) entering Tuesday's second round at the Saticoy Country Club. Loyola Marymount's Connor Campbell owns the individual lead after 18 holes with a 1-under 71 on the demanding course.

The Dons shot 303 (+15), followed by the Toreros at 307. Defending team champion BYU and Pacific are tied for third place six shots back at 309 (+21). Bay Area rivals Santa Clara and Saint Mary's are tied for fifth place at 310 (+22). San Francisco is in the hunt for its 12th WCC Championship and first since taking home the hardware in 2011.

Campbell was the only player in the field to break par on the 6,884-yard Saticoy Golf Club and owns a three stroke lead over San Francisco's Jobim Carlos, the individual runner-up last season, defending medalist Byron Meth of Pacific and BYU's Cole Ogden, who all carded rounds of 74.

Six players sit tied for fifth place with 18 holes in the books: Santa Clara's Carlos Briones and Gio Gandionco, San Francisco's Seb Crookall-Nixon, 2014 WCC Player of the Year Grant Forrest and Mathias Dahl of San Diego and Pepperdine's Cody McManus.

Pepperdine sophomore Robin Kang turned in the day's most remarkable highlight, carding an ace on No. 10 in his first swing of the 2015 Championship. Kang aced the 144-yar hole -- his second as a collegiate golfer.

The West Coast Conference Championships continue on Tuesday at Saticoy Golf Club. San Francisco tees off at 9:40 a.m. off No. 1 and will be grouped with San Diego and BYU.

Team Standings: 1. San Francisco 303; 2. San Diego 307; T3. Brigham Young 309; T3. Pacific 309; T5. Santa Clara 310; T5. Saint Mary's 310; 7. Pepperdine 313, 8. Gonzaga 314; 9. Loyola Marymount 318.

Top Individuals: 1. Connor Campbell (LMU) 71; T2. Byron Meth (Pacific) 74; T2. Jobim Carlos (San Francisco) 74; T2. Cole Odgen (BYU) 74; T5. Mathias Dahl (San Diego) 75; T5. Grant Forrest (San Diego) 75; T5. Cody McManus (Pepperdine) 75; T5. Gio Gandionco (Santa Clara) 75; T5. Seb Crookall-Nixon (San Francisco) 75; T5. Carlos Briones (Santa Clara) 75.