{{ article.title }}

San Diego And Pepperdine Claim WCC Golf Championships

April 15, 2008


All-WCC Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Men's Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Women's Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Tacoma, Wash.- The San Diego men's golf team captured its first-ever West Coast Conference title, while the Pepperdine women's team won the program's seventh straight conference crown at the Chambers Bay Golf Course in Tacoma, WA on Tuesday. The Toreros led from the opening round, and shot a 308 in Tuesday's final round to finish with a score of 888, four strokes ahead of Pepperdine and Saint Mary's, who tied for second place. The Pepperdine women dominated the competition, posting a three-round score of 905 to finish 37 strokes ahead of second place San Francisco. It marked the 10th WCC team title in the last 11 seasons for the Waves.

San Diego's Jake Yount and Saint Mary's Chadd Cocco tied for first place in the standings, shooting identical three-round scores of 218 (+2). Yount took individual medalist honors after winning the second hole of a sudden death playoff. Torero Darrin Hall tied for third place with San Francisco's Chris Cunningham, finishing just one stroke behind the leaders with a three-round total of 219 (+3). Loyola Marymount's Jason D'Amore and Saint Mary's Michael McRae rounded out the top finishers, tying for fifth place with a score of 220 (+4). Portland's Bill Winter, Saint Mary's Scott Hardy, and San Diego's Tim Mickelson share WCC Coach of the Year honors, and Pepperdine's Andrew Putnam was named Freshman of the Year.

Saint Mary's (892) second place finish matched its highest-ever at the WCC Championships, while Pepperdine (892) tied for second after claiming the league title in eight of the previous nine conference championship events. Loyola Marymount (903) finished in fourth place, while Portland (905) snagged the fifth place spot, marking its highest finish since taking fourth place in 2005. Santa Clara (910) and San Francisco (912) finished in sixth and seventh place, respectively, and Gonzaga (922) rounded out the field in the No. 8 spot.

Four Pepperdine golfers finished among the top-five individuals on the women's side, led by Leanne Bowditch and Taylore Karle, who tied for first place by shooting three-round totals of 220 (+4). Fellow Wave Jayvie Agojo shot a combined 234 (+18) to capture fourth place, and Stephanie Gelleni wrapped up a fifth place performance with a three-round score of 235 (+19). San Francisco's Jessica Potter was one of four Dons to finish among the top-eight, shooting 232 (+16) to take third place. Pepperdine's Laurie Gibbs was tabbed for Coach of the Year honors, while Karle took home Freshman of the Year accolades.

San Francisco (942) notched its seventh straight second place finish in the women's championship, while Portland (979) and Santa Clara (979) tied for third, matching a program best for both squads. Gonzaga rounded out the women's field, shooting a three-round total of 987 to finish in fifth place.


Co-Players of the Year: Leanne Bowditch, Pepperdine &Taylore Karle, Pepperdine
Freshman of the Year: Taylore Karle, Pepperdine
Coach of the Year: Laurie Gibbs, Pepperdine

2008 Women's All-Conference Team
Jayvie Agojo, Pepperdine
Leanne Bowditch, Pepperdine
Danielle Cvitanov, San Francisco
Stephanie Gelleni, Pepperdine
Taylore Karle, Pepperdine
Taryn Kuida, Portland
Natasha Podmore, San Francisco
Jessica Potter, San Francisco
Christina Stockton, San Francisco
Corey Utsurogi, Santa Clara

Honorable Mention
Hilaire Fouts, SCU; Martine de Gannes, PEP; Kristin Howell, POR; Chaneng Joe, USF; Paige Rachor, POR; Rachel Sibbitt, GON; Miki Ueoka, SCU


Player of the Year: Jake Yount, San Diego
Freshman of the Year: Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Tri-Coaches of the Year: Bill Winter, POR; Scott Hardy, SMC; Tim Mickelson, USD

2008 Men's All-Conference Team
Chadd Cocco, Saint Mary's
Chris Cunningham, San Francisco
Jason D'Amore, Loyola Marymount
Darrin Hall, San Diego
Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
Terence Macatangay, Portland
Michael McRae, Saint Mary's
Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Scott Travers, Santa Clara
Jake Yount, San Diego

Honorable Mention
Jesse Barnsley, PEP; Jonathan Keane, SCU; Josh Kelley, SMC; Trevor Loe, GON; Bryan Martin, LMU; Carl Smith, PEP; Dale Smith, USD; Justin Smithhisler, POR; Andrew Widmar, PEP