{{ article.title }}

Locke Leads Golf All-WCC Honors

April 18, 2007

Los Angeles, CA (April 18) - A day after the 2007 West Coast Conference Championships, Loyola Marymount golfer Brian Locke finds himself in a familiar spot. The sophomore was named the WCC Player of the Year after he became the first repeat champion in WCC history thanks to his win at La Purisima Golf Course on Tuesday.

Locke, ranked 54th in the nation by GolfWeek.com and 49th by GolfStat, won his fourth tournament of the season with his second straight WCC title. He is the first player since the WCC started hosting a championship in men's golf in 1968 to be a repeat champion and earn repeat Player of the Year honors.

The St. Bernard High School graduate also earned his second straight first-team All-WCC honor as he averages 71.3 per round this season, down from the 72.1 he averaged in his freshman season. Locke has won five tournaments in two seasons at LMU, earning top five honors 12 times and top-20 honors 19 times in his 22 events.

Locke's wins this season have all come on back-to-back occasions. He won his first of the season at the Bill Cullum Intercollegiate with a nine-under 207 on Oct. 31 and then a week later he posted a 10-under 206 at the Hawaii Fall Intercollegiate on Nov. 8. Entering into the WCC Championships Locke had won the Cal Poly Intercollegiate two weeks priror on Mar. 30 with a seven-under 209. In 36 rounds, Locke has had only 11 rounds over par-72.

Junior Jason D'Amore joined Locke on the WCC First-Team thanks to his personal best second place finish on Tuesday. D'Amore finished just two strokes behind his teammate as the Lions went one-two for the first time in school history at the WCC Championships.

D'Amore averages 73.4 per 18 holes this season, just above his 73.2 average. The second place finish was his ninth top-five finish and his 23rd top-20 finish in 35 career events over three seasons at LMU. D'Amore's 2007 season included the lowest round by the Lions, hitting a 66 in the first round of the USF Triumph on March 12.

Since Head Coach Alex Galvan took over the program in the 2002-03 season, the Lions have had seven first-team All-WCC selections. There were only two prior to 2002-03, Matt Heyn in 2000 and his brother Scott Heyn in 1997.

Player of the Year: Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
Freshman of the Year: Brandon Crick, Gonzaga
Coach of the Year: Scott Hardy, Saint Mary?s

2007 Men's All-Conference Team
Mike Barry, San Diego
Jason D'Amore, Loyola Marymount
Darrin Hall, San Diego
Domingo Jojola, San Francisco
Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
Michael McRae, SaInt Mary's
Robert McRae, Saint Mary's
Eric Shriver, Pepperdine
Dale Smith, San Diego
Jong Yoon, Santa Clara

Honorable MentionDaniel Cone, SMC; Brandon Crick, GON; Trevor Loe, GON; Kevin Beavers, POR; Carl Smith, PEP