{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine Claims Men's and Women's Golf Championship Titles

April 20, 2010

Final Men's Scores | Final Women's Scores

Vallejo, Calif., -- The Pepperdine men and women reasserted their stronghold of the WCC Golf Championships, sweeping both titles for the eighth time in school history. The men last won the title in 2007 and now have 17 overall championships and the women have now won nine straight titles and 12 of the 14 championships.

The Wave men finished with a total score of 887 (290-294-303), just five shots ahead of San Diego, which finished with a score of 892 (298-298-296), after entering the final round a total of 12 shots behind Pepperdine. San Diego's final round score of 296 was the low round of the day. Santa Clara (896) and San Francisco (898) finished just behind the Toreros. Rounding out the rest of the standings are Saint Mary's (903), Gonzaga (943), Portland (943), and Loyola Marymount (950).

The men's individual award went to San Diego's Gunner Wiebe, who finished at an even 216 (73-71-72). Wiebe became the first Torero to win the award outright since Patrick Hawkins did it in 1998. In 2008, Jake Yount tied for the individual title. It was a tight battle as the first through fifth spots were separated buy just five shots. Rounding out the top five were Pepperdine's Carl Smith IV (218), San Francisco's Ji Hwan Park (219), Pepperdine's Josh Anderson (220), and Santa Clara's Cory Mehl (221).

The Wave women were a little less tested as they won by a total of 32 strokes with a three-round score of 906 (307-293-306). Their second round score of 293 was the low for the tournament. Finishing in second place for ninth straight year was San Francisco, which finished with a total score of 938. Rounding out the last three teams were Santa Clara (972), Gonzaga (981), and Portland (995).

Pepperdine's Lisa McCloskey took home the individual award with a three-round total of 225 (77-74-74) as the Waves took up the top three spots. She was followed closely by teammates Danielle Kang (227) and Jessica Wallace (228). 2009 WCC Player of the Year, Danielle Cvitanov of San Francisco, finished fourth (229), while Pepperdine's Kaitlin Drolson (231) rounded out the top five. McCloskey becomes the ninth straight Pepperdine player to win the individual title.

Men's All-WCC
Josh Anderson, PEP
Scott Brace, USD
Alex Ching, USD
Robert McRae, SMC
Cory Mehl, SCU
Ji Hwan Park, USF
Andrew Putnam, PEP
Carl Smith IV, PEP
Scott Travers, SCU
Gunner Wiebe, USD

Honorable Mention
Jimmy Cacho, SCU
Eric Grimberg, SMC
Henrik Holm, SMC
Domingo Jojola, USF
Shane Mason, PEP

Women's All-WCC
Danielle Cvitanov, USF
Kaitlin Drolson, PEP
Katrina Hegge, USF
Danielle Kang, PEP
Taylore Karle, PEP
Lisa McCloskey, PEP
Christina Stockton, USF
Tamara Surtees, SCU
MikI Ueoka, SCU
Jessica Wallace, PEP

Honorable Mention
Stephanie Corey, GON
Rachael Fischer, POR
Jamie Nonaka, SCU
Natasha Podmore, USF
Sage Suffecool, GON