{{ article.title }}

2011 WCC Golf All-Conference Teams Announced

April 21, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Click here to watch the feature

Click here to visit our Tournament Central Page!

SAN BRUNO, CA -- Pepperdine University freshman Grace Na and University of San Diego junior Alex Ching have been named the 2011 West Coast Conference Men's and Women's Golf Players of the Year.

Na, who was also named WCC Freshman of the Year, pulled off a tremendous double during the 2010-11 academic year. In the fall while competing for AlamedaHigh School, she won the 2010 CIF State Championship as an individual. She then graduated early from high school in order to enroll at Pepperdine in January.Na then recorded her first collegiate tournament victory this week by winning the WCC Individual Championship by one shot at the San Juan Oaks Golf Club inHollister. Na was one of five Pepperdine players named to the 10-player all-conference team that featured three freshmen and three sophomores.

Brad Rickel of Gonzaga University was named the WCC Women's Golf Coach of the Year, marking the first time the Bulldogs have won a conference coach, player or freshman of the year award in the sport. Rickel, who is in his fifth season, led the Bulldogs to their best finish in program history by placing second to 13-time champion Pepperdine.

Ching, who was also named to the all-conference team for the third time and was named the 2009 WCC Freshman of the Year, is ranked 22nd in the nation byGolfstat. He finished first in three events this year and tied for the top spot at the WCC Championships before losing a playoff on the second hole.

James Back was named the WCC Men's Golf Freshman of the Year as he placed third at the WCC Championships and helped lead the Dons to their secondteam title in three years. Conference individual champion Taylor Travis and Ji Hwan Park also represented the Dons on the all-conference team.

Men's Player of the Year
Alex Ching, USD

Men's Co-Coach of the Year
Tim Mickelson, USD; Bill Winter, Portland

Men's Freshman of the Year
James Back, USF

Men's All-Conference Team
Josh Anderson, PEP
James Back, USF
Alex Ching, USD
Travis Johnsen, GON
Rick Lamb, SCU
Ji Hwan Park, USF
Andrew Putnam, PEP
Jake Sarnoff, LMU
Justin Smithhisler, POR
Taylor Travis, USF
Gunner Wiebe, USD

Men's Honorable Mention
Anders Engell, SMC
Ben Geyer, SMC
Ben Murray, USD
Parker Page, PEP
Manav Shah, USD

Women's Player of the Year
Grace Na, PEP

Women's Coach of the Year
Brad Rickel, GON

Women's Freshman of the Year
Grace Na, PEP

Women's All-Conference Team
Liv Cheng, PEP
Kaitlin Drolson, PEP
Victoria Fallgren, GON
Katrina Hegge, USF
Tinna Johannsdottir, USF
Danielle Kang, PEP
Taylore Karle, PEP
Tai Jade Kliebphipat, GON
Grace Na, PEP
Miki Ueoka, SCU

Women's Honorable Mention
Sara Banke, POR
Taylor Camany, SCU
Stephanie Corey, GON
Jessica Howe, GON
Caitlin McCleary, SEA
Sage Suffecool, GON
Tamara Surtees, SCU