{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Men's Golf Postseason Awards

April 29, 2010

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Santa Clara junior Scott Travers earned WCC Player of the Year honors by vote of the conference coaches on Wednesday. Travers tied for sixth at the WCC Championships, helping his team to a third place team finish behind second place San Diego and 2010 Champion Pepperdine. Travers had five top 5 finishes and nine top-10 finishes in his 11 tournaments this year. His best score came at the Del Walker Intercollegiate where he shot a 201 over three rounds to tie for second.

San Diego's Tim Mickelson was named WCC Coach of the Year after leading his team to a second place finish at the WCC Championships. Mickelson is in his seventh year with the Toreros and has coached his team to the NCAA Regionals in three of the last four seasons and its first-ever appearance at the Nationals in 2009.

Nabbing WCC Freshman of the Year honors was Santa Clara's Rick Lamb. Lamb tallied the lowest score among the entire WCC freshman field at the WCC Championships, earning 15th in the individual tournament with rounds of 72 (E), 81 (+9), and 75 (+3).

The All-WCC men's golf team was selected after the WCC Championships at the Hiddenbrooke Golf Course last week. The first five players on the team were chosen by the conference coaches, while the next five on the list and honorable mention selections were based on individual finish at the WCC tournament. Below is the 2009-10 All-WCC team.

Men's All-WCC Team
Josh Anderson, PEP
Scott Brace, USD
Alex Ching, USD
Robert McRae, SMC
Cory Mehl, SCU
Ji Hwan Park, USF
Andrew Putnam, PEP
Carl Smith IV, PEP
Scott Travers, SCU
Gunner Wiebe, USD

Honorable Mention
Jimmy Cacho, SCU
Eric Grimberg, SMC
Henrik Holm, SMC
Domingo Jojola, USF
Shane Mason, PEP