{{ article.title }}

San Francisco, Pepperdine and San Diego Selected to Compete at 2009 NCAA Men's Golf Championships

May 5, 2009

San Bruno, Calif. - The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee announced the teams and individuals to participate in the 2009 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships.

2009 WCC Men's Golf Champion, the University of San Francisco, along with Pepperdine University, and the University of San Diego will represent the West Coast Conference in the team tournament, while Loyola Marymount University's Greg Moss, the 2009 WCC Championships individual medalist, will compete in the individual field.

The NCAA switched from three regional sites to six this season. All six 54-hole regional tournaments will take place on May 14-16. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals unaffiliated with those teams will compete in three of those six regional tournaments, while the other three regional tournaments will host 14 teams and five individuals unaffiliated with those teams.

Pepperdine garnered the sixth seed and will tee off at the Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, OK in the Stillwater Regional. Regional tournament host San Francisco earned an automatic bid after winning the 2009 WCC Golf Championships and will enter as the No. 13-seed with No. 12-seed San Diego at the Lake Merced Golf Club in Daly City, CA. Loyola Marymount's Moss will join the Dons and Toreros at Lake Merced.

The top five team finishers and top individual not on the top five teams from each regional will advance to the finals. The championships will be conducted May 26-30 at the Inverness Club in Toledo, OH, hosted by the University of Toledo.

Lake Merced Golf Club - Daly City, California
Hosted by the University of San Francisco

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Southern California
2. Texas A&M
3. Arizona State
4. San Diego State
5. UC Davis (Big West Conference)
6. Oregon
7. New Mexico
8. Colorado
9. UC Irvine
10. Kansas State
11. Oregon State
12. San Diego
13. San Francisco (West Coast Conference)

1. Grant Doverspike, Fresno State
2. Brady Johnson, Brigham Young
3. Nick Delio, Cal State Northridge
4. Scott Smith, Nevada
5. Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly
6. Robbie Fillmore, Brigham Young
7. Mark Hubbard, San Jose State
8. Kevin Tucker, Washington State
9. Bhavik Patel, Fresno State
10. Greg Moss, Loyola Marymount

Karsten Creek Golf Club - Stillwater, Oklahoma
Hosted by Oklahoma State University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
2. Arkansas
3. TCU (Mountain West Conference)
4. LSU
5. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
6. Pepperdine
7. Michigan State
8. Baylor
9. Northwestern
10. Tulsa
11. Denver
12. Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference)
13. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)

1. Trent Peterson, South Dakota State
2. Peter Malnati, Missouri
3. Tom Whitney, Air Force
4. Kelly Kraft, SMU
5. Eric Onesi, Old Dominion
6. Chris Ross, Eastern Michigan
7. Roger Sloan, UTEP
8. Nate Page, Southern Utah
9. Devin Carrey, Louisiana-Lafayette
10. James Kwon, SMU