{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine Earns No. 15 Seed at NCAA West Regional Championships

May 7, 2007

Malibu, Calif. - The Pepperdine men's golf team received the No. 15 seed in the NCAA West Regional, the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee announced on Monday. The Waves will travel to Tempe, Arizona, where they will compete at the Karsten Golf Course May 17-19.

The West Regional also includes second-ranked and No. 1 seed Stanford along with second seed and No. 8 UCLA and No. 4 seed and fifth-ranked USC.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine sub-regions, will be conducted May 17-19. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

The championships will be conducted May 30-June 2 at the Gold Course at Golden Horseshoe Golf Club in Williamsburg, Virginia. Virginia Commonwealth University is the host institution for this year's championships.

In addition to the West Regional in Tempe, regional sites also include the East Regional at The Golf Club of Georgia in Alpharetta, Georgia, and the Central Regional at the Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois.

Head coach John Geiberger's Waves are making their 15th NCAA Regional appearance and ninth straight. Pepperdine tied for ninth at the 2006 NCAA West Regional Championships in Tucson, Arizona, and earned a berth into the NCAA Championships. The Waves are seeking their sixth NCAA Championships appearance and third in the last four years.

Pepperdine captured the 1997 national championship at Conway Farms in Lake Forest, Illinois.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the West Regional. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

ASU's Karsten Course- Tempe, Arizona
Hosted by the Arizona State University
Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Stanford
4. Southern California (Pacific-10 Conference)
5. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
6. Brigham Young (Mountain West Conference)
7. Arizona State
8. Wake Forest
9. Arizona
10. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
11. South Carolina
12. Washington
13. Vanderbilt
14. Augusta State
15. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
16. San Diego State
17. New Mexico
18. Oregon State
19. Colorado State
20. Oregon
21. California
22. Nevada (Western Athletic Conference)
23. Denver
24. Pennsylvania (Ivy Group)
25. Detroit (Horizon League)
26. Bucknell (Patriot League)
27. Monmouth (Northeast Conference)

1. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
2. Dustin Pimm, Utah
3. Darrin Hall, San Diego
4. Michael McRae, St. Mary's (California)
5. Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly
6. Thomas Petersson, Pacific