{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine Receives No. 14 Seed at NCAA West Regional Championships

May 8, 2006

Malibu, Calif. - The Pepperdine men's golf team received the No. 14 seed in the NCAA West Regional, the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee announced on Monday. The Waves will travel to Tucson, Arizona, where they will compete at the Omni Tucson National Golf Club May 18-20.

The West Regional also includes second-ranked and No. 1 seed Florida along with second seed and No. 5 Arizona State and four West Coast Conference (WCC) teams. Joining the Waves in Tucson are Santa Clara (17), San Diego (22) and WCC Champion Loyola Marymount (25).

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 18-20. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

The 2006 NCAA Championships will be conducted May 31 - June 3 at Crosswater Golf Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon. Portland is the host institution for this year's championships.

In addition to the West Regional in Tucson, regional sites also include the East Regional at the Lake Nona Golf Club in Orlando, Florida, and the Central Regional at the Sand Ridge Golf Club in Chardon, Ohio.

Head coach John Geibergers' Waves are making their 14th NCAA Regional appearance and eighth straight. Pepperdine tied for 10th at the 2005 NCAA West Regional Championships at the Stanford Golf Course. Pepperdine lost in a three-team playoff with USC and South Carolina for the final NCAA Championships final spot. The Waves are seeking their fifth NCAA Championships appearance and first since 2004 when they placed 10th.

Pepperdine captured the 1997 national championship at Conway Farms in Lake Forest, Illinois.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the West Regional. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

West Regional-May 18-20
Tucson National Golf Club- Tucson, Arizona
Hosted by the University of Arizona

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Florida
2. Arizona State
3. BYU
4. East Tennessee State
5. Baylor
6. Alabama
7. Arizona
8. San Diego State
9. North Carolina State
10. Washington
11. New Mexico (Mountain West)
12. Stanford
13. Houston
14. Pepperdine
15. Louisville
16. Denver
17. Santa Clara
18. New Mexico State (Western Athletic)
19. Fresno State
20. UC-Irvine
21. Nevada
22. San Diego
23. Cal Poly (Big West)
24. Western Kentucky (Sun Belt)
25. Loyola Marymount (West Coast)
26. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic)
27. Bucknell (Patriot League)

1. Graham Delaet, Boise State
2. Dustin Pimm, Utah
3. Chadd Cocco, St. Mary's (California)
4. Ryan Witz-Washington State
5. Ryan Wood, Long Beach State
6. Derek Whiting, Colorado State