{{ article.title }}


May 8, 2006

The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee today announced the teams and individuals that will participate in the 2006 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships.  The San Diego Toreros, under the direction of third-year head coach Tim Mickelson, will be making the program's first-ever trip as they were selected the No. 22 seed in the 27 team West Regional.  The University of Arizona will host the 2006 NCAA Division I Men's Golf West Regional, May 18-20, at the Omni Tucson National Golf Club."I could not be more proud of our guys," said head coach Tim Mickelson.  "We had a meeting in January while on our team ski trip and we made one goal for the season and that was to reach Regionals for the first time in school history.  I told the guys if they worked hard for the entire semester that good things would happen.   They worked harder than they ever have and they have remained focused on that one goal.   And the good news came today:  we were rewarded with our first ever post-season berth."

This past season the Toreros turned in four top-five showings with a best of 2nd place (15 teams) at their own USD/Callaway Golf Invitational. They also placed 3rd (15 teams) at the Fresno State Lexus Classic, 3rd (16 teams) at the 60th Annual Western Intercollegiates, and 4th (20 teams) at the UC Riverside/Braveheart Invitational. The Toreros were paced by local product Bucky Coe (La Costa Canyon HS), a sophomore from Encinitas, who totaled a team-best 73.38 average. He was followed by senior Jimmy Harris (El Cajon, CA; Valhalla HS) at 73.39, and senior Luke Antonelli (Silt, CO; St. Mary's HS) at 73.82.

Added Mickelson, "The rewarding part is that we earned our way in through our solid play throughout the year. We were not gonna get greedy on how we got in, but I told the guys that it would be more rewarding to get in through our solid play throughout the year instead of simply winning conference. Now that we are in, we got to buckle down and work hard over the next week so we are prepared for Tucson National. We are honored to be representing the WCC and District 8."Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 18-20. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals. The championships will be conducted May 31-June 3 at Crosswater Golf Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon. The University of the Portland is the host institution for this year's championships.The Toreros are one of four West Coast Conference teams that will be participating in Tucson - they are joined by No. 14 seed Pepperdine, No. 17 seed Santa Clara, and No. 25 seed Loyola Marymount, the league's automatic qualifier and 2006 champion. Although this is USD's first trip as a team, they have had one individual participant before - Ryan Hanratty in 2001.Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the West Regional Championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.WEST REGIONAL-May 18-20Tucson National Golf Club- Tucson, ArizonaHosted by the University of Arizona

Teams (seeded in the following order):1. Florida2. Arizona State3. BYU4. East Tennessee State5. Baylor6. Alabama7. Arizona8. San Diego State9. North Carolina State10. Washington11. New Mexico (Mountain West)12. Stanford13. Houston14. Pepperdine15. Louisville16. Denver17. Santa Clara18. New Mexico State (Western Athletic)19. Fresno State20. UC-Irvine21. Nevada22. San Diego23. Cal Poly (Big West)24. Western Kentucky (Sun Belt)25. Loyola Marymount (West Coast)26. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic)27. Bucknell (Patriot League)

Individuals:1. Graham Delaet, Boise State2. Dustin Pimm, Utah3. Chadd Cocco, St. Mary's (California)4. Ryan Witz-Washington State5. Ryan Wood, Long Beach State6. Derek Whiting, Colorado StateFor a complete listing of all teams selected to the three regionals, go to www.ncaasports.com.This is the fourth time that the University of Arizona has hosted the event (1992, 1994, 1999) since the regional format was instituted in 1989, and each time the event has been contested at Tucson National Golf Club. The Catalina Course's par and yardage figures for the regional are listed below:



Live tournament scoring will be available at www.golfstat.com. Tournament results can be found at Arizona's official athletic website, www.arizonaathletics.com, and at www.ncaasports.com.

2006 NCAA West Regional Tournament ScheduleWednesday, May 17Practice Round, 8 a.m.-6 p.m. PDT

Thursday, May 18First Round, 7 a.m.-6 p.m. PDT

Friday, May 19Second Round, 7 a.m.-6 p.m. PDT

Saturday, May 20Third Round, 7 a.m.-6 p.m. PDT