{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine, Three WCC Individuals, Selected To NCAA West Regional Championship

May 8, 2007

The Pepperdine men's golf team received the No. 15 seed in the NCAA West Regional, the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee announced on Monday. In addition, the WCC placed three individuals in the West Region field in Loyola Marymount's Brian Locke, San Diego's Darrin Hall, and Saint Mary's Michael McRae.

The Waves and the three individuals will travel to Tempe, Arizona, where they will compete at the Karsten Golf Course May 17-19.

The West Regional also includes second-ranked and No. 1 seed Stanford along with second seed and No. 8 UCLA and No. 4 seed and fifth-ranked USC.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine sub-regions, will be conducted May 17-19. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

The championships will be conducted May 30-June 2 at the Gold Course at Golden Horseshoe Golf Club in Williamsburg, Virginia. Virginia Commonwealth University is the host institution for this year's championships.

In addition to the West Regional in Tempe, regional sites also include the East Regional at The Golf Club of Georgia in Alpharetta, Georgia, and the Central Regional at the Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois.

Head coach John Geiberger's Waves are making their 15th NCAA Regional appearance and ninth straight. Pepperdine tied for ninth at the 2006 NCAA West Regional Championships in Tucson, Arizona, and earned a berth into the NCAA Championships. The Waves are seeking their sixth NCAA Championships appearance and third in the last four years.

Pepperdine captured the 1997 national championship at Conway Farms in Lake Forest, Illinois.

For the second consecutive year, LMU sophomore Locke, will make a trip to Arizona for the NCAA West Regional. In 2007, Locke improved on an impressive freshman campaign in 2006. Locke won four tournaments on the season, including the WCC Championship on April 17. He also won the Bill Cullum Invitational (Oct. 31), the Hawaii Fall Intercollegiate (Nov. 8) and the Cuesta Title Men's Intercollegiate (Mar. 30). He enters the West Regional ranked 50th in the nation by GolfWeek.com.

Hall, who was one of three Toreros to be named First Team All-West Coast Conference, led the team in scoring this season with an average of 72.30 over 33 rounds. Over his final five tournaments, he placed 2nd once (USF Triumph at Pauma Valley) and 5th two times (USD Callaway and WCC Championships). This season he had five rounds in the sixties, including a low of 66 at the Hawaii Fall Intercollegiate where he finished in a tie for first before falling in the playoff.

With McRae's selection to the 2007 NCAA Championship, the Saint Mary's golf team will be represented in the last four NCAA Championships. Chadd Cocco was selected as an individual in 2006, the SMC golf team earned an at large berth into the 2005 NCAA Western Regional, and Joe Lanza was selected as an individual in 2004. McRae finished the 2006-07 season with a 72.6 stroke average, while playing in all 11 events and all 33 rounds the Gaels participated in. He is currently ranked 182 in stroke average. McRae posted a top-20 finish in nine of 11 events this season, had five top-5 finishes and took home medalist honors at the USF Triumph at Pauma Valley in March.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the West Regional. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

ASU's Karsten Course- Tempe, Arizona
Hosted by the Arizona State University
Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Stanford
4. Southern California (Pacific-10 Conference)
5. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
6. Brigham Young (Mountain West Conference)
7. Arizona State
8. Wake Forest
9. Arizona
10. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
11. South Carolina
12. Washington
13. Vanderbilt
14. Augusta State
15. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
16. San Diego State
17. New Mexico
18. Oregon State
19. Colorado State
20. Oregon
21. California
22. Nevada (Western Athletic Conference)
23. Denver
24. Pennsylvania (Ivy Group)
25. Detroit (Horizon League)
26. Bucknell (Patriot League)
27. Monmouth (Northeast Conference)

1. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
2. Dustin Pimm, Utah
3. Darrin Hall, San Diego
4. Michael McRae, Saint Mary's (California)

5. Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly
6. Thomas Petersson, Pacific