{{ article.title }}

Four WCC Men's Golf Teams Selected To NCAA Championship

May 8, 2006

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Four West Coast Conference men's golf teams were selected to compete in the 2006 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship. Loyola Marymount earned the WCC's automatic bid by winning the WCC Championship. Joining the Lions in the West Regional is Pepperdine (14), Santa Clara (17), and San Diego. Saint Mary's Chadd Çocco was selected to compete as an individual in the West Regional.

On the heals of their first-ever WCC championship, and the automatic bid that comes with it, Loyola Marymount was one of 27 teams and six individuals selected to the West Regional to be held May 18-20 at Tucson National Golf Club in Tucson, Ariz. The Lions were placed as the 25th seed in the West. Led by freshman Brian Locke, the Lions captured the WCC title with a three-round 872. Locke finished the three-round tournament with a six-under 210 to win the WCC individual title.

Pepperdine Head Coach John Geibergers' Waves are making their 14th NCAA Regional appearance and eighth straight. Pepperdine tied for 10th at the 2005 NCAA West Regional Championships at the Stanford Golf Course. Pepperdine lost in a three-team playoff with USC and South Carolina for the final NCAA Championships final spot. The Waves are seeking their fifth NCAA Championships appearance and first since 2004 when they placed 10th.

Pepperdine captured the 1997 national championship at Conway Farms in Lake Forest, Illinois.

San Diego and Santa Clara made history Monday afternoon as both teams earned their first-ever postseason bids. The Broncos were named the 17th seed in the 27-team West Regional, while the Toreros were tabbed with the No. 22 seed.

SCU finished its regular season with a strong third-place performance at the WCC Championships in mid-April. Following the tournament Head Coach Rob Miller was named WCC Co-Coach of the Year, while senior Michael Nicoletti earned first-team All-WCC honors and fellow senior John Colyar, junior Eric Lillibridge and sophomore Tim Lynch all were named All-WCC Honorable Mention performers.

This past season the Toreros turned in four top-five showings with a best of 2nd place (15 teams) at their own USD/Callaway Golf Invitational. They also placed 3rd (15 teams) at the Fresno State Lexus Classic, 3rd (16 teams) at the 60th Annual Western Intercollegiates, and 4th (20 teams) at the UC Riverside/Braveheart Invitational. The Toreros were paced by local product Bucky Coe (La Costa Canyon HS), a sophomore from Encinitas, who totaled a team-best 73.38 average. He was followed by senior Jimmy Harris (El Cajon, CA; Valhalla HS) at 73.39, and senior Luke Antonelli (Silt, CO; St. Mary's HS) at 73.82.

Cocco led the Gaels to a fourth place finish at the WCC Championships to earn his third All-WCC honor. Cocco leads the Gaels with a 72.6 stroke average.

The NCAA tournament for men's golf has three regionals, each with 27 teams and six individuals not from those teams. The top-10 teams and the top-two individuals not from the those teams from each regional go to the NCAA tournament.

The championships will be conducted May 31-June 3 at Crosswater Golf Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon. The University of the Portland is the host institution for this year's championships.

The top-five seeds in the West are Florida, Arizona State, BYU, East Tennessee State and Baylor. The top seed in the Central Regional is Oklahoma State and the East the top seed is defending champion Georgia.

Tucson National Golf Club- Tucson, Arizona
Hosted by the University of Arizona

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Florida
2. Arizona State
3. BYU
4. East Tennessee State
5. Baylor
6. Alabama
7. Arizona
8. San Diego State
9. North Carolina State
10. Washington
11. New Mexico (Mountain West)
12. Stanford
13. Houston
14. Pepperdine
15. Louisville
16. Denver
17. Santa Clara
18. New Mexico State (Western Athletic)
19. Fresno State
20. UC-Irvine
21. Nevada
22. San Diego
23. Cal Poly (Big West)
24. Western Kentucky (Sun Belt)
25. Loyola Marymount (West Coast)
26. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic)
27. Bucknell (Patriot League)

1. Graham Delaet, Boise State
2. Dustin Pimm, Utah
3. Chadd Cocco, St. Mary's (California)
4. Ryan Witz-Washington State
5. Ryan Wood, Long Beach State
6. Derek Whiting, Colorado State