{{ article.title }}

San Diego Men's Golf Compete in NCAA Championships This Week

May 26, 2009

TOLEDO, Ohio - The University of San Diego men's golf team will join other top amateur golfers in Northwest Ohio on May 26-30 as the University of Toledo and the Inverness Club will host the 2009 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships. It will be the second time that the University of Toledo has served as the tournament host with the previous occurrence coming 65 years ago in 1944. This marks USD's first trip to the NCAA Championships.

A par-71, 7,255-yard course, the Inverness Club was founded in 1903 and has hosted four U.S. Opens, one U.S. Amateur, one U.S. Senior Open and two PGA Championships. The Toledo Rockets' men's golf program has also hosted the Inverness Intercollegiate there since 2000.

The 2009 NCAA Championships will feature a new twist with the team champion determined via match play, the first time the winner hasn't been awarded by total strokes since 1965. The top eight teams after 54 holes of stroke play will advance to match play with the quarterfinals and semifinals being held on Friday, May 29 and the championship match set for Saturday, May 30.

During the match-play portion of the championships, each match will be worth one point with all five players participating. The first team to win three points within the team match will advance or, in the case of the championship match, be declared the national champion.

San Diego will be sending the same five players that competed at the recently played NCAA West Regionals - graduate student Ian Coffman (San Diego, CA), senior Blake Trimble (Rancho Santa Fe, CA), sophomore Gunner Wiebe (Denver, CO), sophomore Jason Shano (Scottsdale, AZ) and freshman Alex Ching (Honolulu, HI).

Following are the Top 5 teams and one individuals from six regionals on May 14-16 that have qualifed for the NCAA Championships.

West Regional (Lake Merced Golf Club, Daly City, CA)
1. Arizona State (Pac-10)
2. Oregon (Pac-10)
3. Texas A&M (Big 12)
4. San Diego (WCC)
5. Southern Cal (Pac-10)
Individual - Brady Johnson (BYU)

Northeast Regional (Galloway Golf Club, Galloway, NJ)
1. Alabama (SEC)
2. Tennessee (SEC)
3. Illinois (Big 10)
4. Virginia (ACC)
5. Wake Forest (ACC)
Individual - Kyle Stanley (Clemson) - Won on 2nd playoff hole

South Central Regional (Karsten Creek, Stillwater, OK)
1. Oklahoma State (Big 12)
2. Arkansas (SEC)
3. Chattanooga (Southern)
T4. Northwestern (Big Ten)
T4. TCU (Mountain West)
Individual - Cody Paladino (Baylor) - Won on 2nd playoff hole

Southeast Regional (Redtail Golf Club, Sorrento, FL)
1. UCF (Conference USA)
T2. Georgia (SEC)
T2. Arizona (Pac-10)
T2. South Carolina (SEC)
5. Iowa (Big 10)
Individual - Cory Nagy (Charlotte)

Southwest Regional (Univ. of Texas Golf Club, Austin, TX)
1. Florida (SEC)
2. Texas Tech (Big 12)
3. Texas (Big 12)
4. Stanford (Pac-10)
5. Michigan (Big Ten)
Individual - Hugues Joannes (Lamar)

Central Regional (The Club at Olde Stone, Alvaton, KY)
1. UCLA (Pac-10)
2. Washington (Pac-10)
T3. Georgia Tech (ACC)
T3. Ohio State (Big Ten)
5. Duke (ACC)
Individual - Matt Hill (N.C. State)

Courtesy of University of San Diego Sports Information