{{ article.title }}

Lions' Locke Earns All-America Honors

June 9, 2006

Los Angeles, CA (June 9) - The dust continues to settle on the record-breaking season for the Loyola Marymount men's golf team. After leading the Lions to their first ever NCAA Men's Golf National Championship appearance, freshman Brian Locke was named Honorable Mention All-American by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Locke becomes the first-ever men's golfer to earn All-America honors. He led the team with a stroke average of 72, earning many more firsts on the way.

In April he helped the Lions win their first ever West Coast Conference Championship, hitting a final score of six-under par to earn individual title honors. It was the first time a Lion has won the WCC Championships. He also was named the WCC's Player of the Year, the first Lion to do so, and was the third Lion in four years to earn WCC Freshman of the Year.

Later that month he became the first golfer to earn LMU Athlete of the Year and LMU Freshman of the Year honors at the annual end-of-year awards banquet.

He wasn't finished. He went on to lead the Lions to three of its best rounds in school history as a team to claim a tie for sixth place at the NCAA West Regional. Locke finished fifth at 10-under par as the Lions' earned a trip to the NCAA Men's Golf Championships.


First Team
Ryan Baca, Baylor
Alejandro Cañizares, Arizona State
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Matt Every, Florida
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech
Billy Horschel, Florida
Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State

Second Team
Ryan Blaum, Duke
Jay Choi, New Mexico
Erik Flores, UCLA
Mark Haastrup, Georgia State
Brian Harman, Georgia
Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest
Brett Stegmaier, Florida
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Dawie Van der Walt, Lamar
Third Team
Andrew Dresser, Texas Tech
Andres Gonzales, UNLV
Rob Grube, Stanford
Kevin Larsen, Georgia Tech
Niklas Lemke, Arizona State
Stephen Lewton, NC State
Alex Prugh, Washington
Martin Ureta, North Carolina
James Vargas, Florida
Taylor Wood, Southern California

Honorable Mention
Benjamin Alvarado, Arizona State
Zach Bixler, Washington
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Alex Coe, Pepperdine
Brian Duncan, Clemson
Jake Ellison, Brigham Young
Travis Esway, Arizona
Daniel Im, UCLA
Eirik Johansen, South Carolina
Kevin Kisner, Georgia
Russell Knox, Jacksonville
Matt Kohn, Kentucky
Bronson LaCassie, Minnesota
Tyler Leon, Oklahoma State
James Lepp, Washington
Luke List, Vanderbilt
Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
James Love, Denver
Edward McGlasson, Colorado
Andrew Parr, Texas A&M
Stephen Poole, Clemson
Richard Scott, Georgia
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Dusty Smith, Lamar
Scott Stallings, Tennesse Tech
Daniel Summerhays, Brigham Young
Jared Texter, UNLV
Brendon Todd, Georgia
Niall Turner, Minnesota
Casey Watabu, Nevada
Andy Winings, Kentucky