{{ article.title }}

Rob Valentino Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List by NSCAA

Aug. 8, 2007

USF senior defender Rob Valentino, the 2006 West Coast Conference Player of the Year, has been named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List that was released by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) today (August 8th). The Hermann Trophy is awarded to the nation's top male and female collegiate soccer player in January each year. Valentino, a fourth year senior from Cave Creek, Ariz., is one of 29 players to be chosen.

Valentino has led the USF men's soccer team to the NCAA playoffs in all three of his seasons. That ended USF's ten year drought of postseason appearances . Last season he was named to the all-West Coast Conference first team for the third straight season.

Rob had an opportunity to represent the U.S.A. on its under-23 National Team's 2007 tour of Japan. Rob started both contests and scored a goal in a practice game at UCLA.

"Rob Valentino is as complete a player as you'll find in collegiate soccer today," said Dons' head coach Erik Visser. "He is very versatile. He's one of the best defenders in the country, but when called upon can play midfield or forward with the best of them. He is also a great team leader, who can carry a team on his back."

"It is a great honor and a tribute to my teammates and coaches who have helped me throughout my career," said Valentino. "I am really looking forward to the start of the season. It has been a long time since we lost to New Mexico in the tournament. We feel that our team enters the season a little underrated, so we are looking forward to proving what we can do as an underdog." The Dons open the season August 31st when they host Vermont.

Last year Valentino helped USF record a 0.88 goals against average in 2006 and also recorded a team-best six assists, four of the helpers coming on game-winners.

Players are selected to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List by a committee of Division I coaches who are NSCAA members. In November, the list will be narrowed to 15 semifinalists. Three finalists will be named in early December in conjunction with the NCAA Division I College Cup and will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, January 11, 2008. The winner of the 2007 award will be announced during a nationally-televised news conference that evening.

2007 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch ListAs selected by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA)Pos.NameCl.SchoolHometownKMatt AllenSr.CreightonOmaha, Neb.MEric AvilaJr.UCSBEncinitas, Calif.DRhett BernsteinJr.BrownSan Diego, Calif.DEric BrunnerSr.Ohio StateDublin, OhioFByron DacyJr.CreightonOmaha, Neb.FPatrick FigueiredoJr.AdelphiCompinas, BrazilF Kevin ForestSr.WashingtonEdmonds, Wash.FJuan GavariaSr.St. Peter'sElizabeth, N.J.MTom GraySr.MonmouthMiddletown, N.J.MBruno GuardaJr.SMUPiracicaba, BrazilDDavid HorstSr.Old DominionPine Grove, Pa.DAndy IroSr.UCSBLiverpool, EnglandF Saidi IsaacSr.WinthropEldoret, KenyaMDejan JakovicJr.UABEtobicoke, OntarioDJulius JamesSr.ConnecticutMaloney Gardens, TrinidadFGeorge JostenSr.GonzagaIdaho Falls, IdahoMStephen KingSr.MarylandMedford, N.J.FJoseph LapiraSr.Notre DameLake Charles, La.MPeter LowrySr.Santa ClaraFair Oaks, Calif.MTravis MacKenzieSr.DuquesneCarnegie, Pa.MRyan MaduroSr.ProvidenceBristol, R.I.FPatrick NyarkoJr.Virginia TechKumasi, GhanaFYannick ReyeringJr.Virginia Mettingen, GermanyMDavid RothSr.NorthwesternSt. Louis, Mo.DAndre SherardSr.North CarolinaGreenville, N.C.MEric SweetinJr.Saint LouisKansas City, Mo.DJulian ValentinSr.Wake ForestLancaster, Pa.DRob ValentinoSr.San FranciscoCave Creek, Ariz.MMichael VideiraSr.DukeMilford, Mass.