{{ article.title }}

WCC Trio Named To Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 9, 2007

Mission, KS - Three WCC men's soccer standouts were named to the 2007 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List released by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). Gonzaga's George Josten, San Francisco's Rob Valentino and Santa Clara's Peter Lowry were each named to the 29-player list for the award, which is presented annually to the top soccer player in the nation.

Josten, a two-time All-WCC first-team selection who has also led the conference in scoring each of the past two seasons, is the inaugural Bulldog to be a Hermann Trophy candidate. An NSCAA/adidas Far West All-Regional first team honoree in 2006, Josten won his second straight West Coast Conference goals (12) and points (28) titles last season. He also had five match-winning goals in 2006, and became the first Bulldog since Jeff McAllister in 1997 to lead the WCC in both goals and points.

Valentino, the 2006 West Coast Conference Player of the Year, has led the USF men's soccer team to the NCAA playoffs in all three of his seasons, and was named to the All-WCC first team for the third straight time. ?He anchored a San Francisco defense that helped USF record a 0.88 goals against average in 2006 and also recorded a team-best six assists, four of the helpers coming on game-winners. Valentino had an opportunity to represent the U.S.A. on the under-23 National Team's 2007 tour of Japan.

Lowry leads a strong Santa Clara men's soccer team into the 2007 season. He was named All-Far West Region first team and All-WCC second team as a junior, while tying for the team lead in scoring with six goals and two assists for 14 points. He has also earned All-WCC second team and All-WCC honorable mention recognition during his career. With six goals this season, he can become just the 10th Bronco men's player to reach the 20-goal plateau in their career. Santa Clara won the WCC title for the second time in four years in 2006, and finished the year with a 13-5-5 record.

Players are selected to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List by a committee of Division I coaches who are NSCAA members. In November, the list will be narrowed to 15 semifinalists. Three finalists will be named in early December in conjunction with the NCAA Division I College Cup and will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11, 2008. The winner of the 2007 award will be announced during a nationally-televised news conference that evening.