{{ article.title }}

Coaches pick San Diego to win WCC M. Soccer Championship

Aug. 14, 2012

Complete Release Get Acrobat Reader | WCC on Twitter | WCC on Facebook | WCC Preseason All-Conference Team

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The University of San Diego has been selected to win the 2012 WCC men's soccer championship this season. The Toreros earned four first-place votes and 34 points overall in a preseason poll of the West Coast Conference's seven head coaches. The Toreros have had the last three WCC Players of the Year, including seniors Dan Delgado and Patrick Wallen.

Santa Clara University received two first-place votes and tallied 29 points to finish second, just three points ahead of the University of Portland. Loyola Marymount University earned 20 points, one first-place vote and was picked to finish fourth by the WCC head coaches.

Defending WCC-champion Saint Mary's College and the University of San Francisco captured 16 points each and were picked to tie for fifth in the WCC standings. The Gaels, who advanced to the Elite Eight of the 2011 College Cup before falling at eventual national champion North Carolina, graduated seven starters from last year's squad and are ranked No. 18 in the National Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) preseason poll. Gonzaga University rounds out the poll with six points and are picked to finish seventh.

Six out of the seven WCC men's soccer teams are represented on the preseason All-West Coast Conference team. San Diego leads the way with three selections, followed by Gonzaga, Saint Mary's and San Francisco with two apiece. The Pilots and Broncos earned one all-WCC selection each. The 2012 season begins on Friday, August 24, with four teams in action. Six more matches will round out the first weekend of the non-conference play as all seven WCC teams will hit the pitch by Sunday.


Team (First Place Votes) Points
1. San Diego (4) 34
2. Santa Clara (2) 29
3. Portland 26
4. Loyola Marymount (1) 20
5T. Saint Mary's 16
5T. San Francisco 16
7. Gonzaga 6


Player School Yr. Pos.
Miguel Aguilar San Francisco So. F
Jose Cabeza Saint Mary's Sr. M
Dan Delgado San Diego Sr. M
Steven Evans Portland Jr. M
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp San Diego Jr. D
Erik Hurtado Santa Clara Sr. F
James Matern Gonzaga RJr. M
Trevor Newquist Saint Mary's Sr. D
Clark Phillips Gonzaga So. F
Brendan Roslund San Francisco Sr. GK
Patrick Wallen San Diego Sr. F