{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Men's Soccer All-Conference Team

Nov. 8, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - The Santa Clara men's soccer team took home the 2006 WCC regular season title, and was rewarded in the all-conference yearly awards as Head Coach Cameron Rast was selected WCC Coach of the Year for the second time in his career, and newcomer Stephen McCarthy shared the league's Freshman of the Year honors with San Diego's Ciaran O'Brien. San Francisco's Rob Valentino was tabbed for WCC Player of the Year recognition, becoming the second Don in the last three seasons to take home the conference's top individual honor, while Portland's Luis Robles became the first Pilot to be named Defensive Player of the Year.

Last season, Valentino became the first USF player to earn WCC Defensive Player of the Year honors, and he is the third Don to be named WCC Player of the Year, following Staale Soebye (1993 & 1994) and current teammate Aaron Chandler (2004). Robles, an All-WCC first team selection in each of the last three seasons, is the first goalkeeper since 2001 to take home the WCC Defensive Player of the Year award. McCarthy is the first Bronco to receive the WCC's top freshman honor since Adam Eyre in 1996, while San Diego's O'Brien follows in the footsteps of older brother Leighton, who was named WCC Freshman of the Year in 1995. Rast was also named WCC Coach of the Year in his second year at the helm in 2003, and earned WCC Defensive Player of the Year accolades as a player in 1989 and 1991.

All seven WCC men's soccer teams were represented on the All-WCC first team, with Portland's Robles and Saint Mary's Matthew Fitzgerald earning a first team spot for the third time in their respective careers. Gonzaga's George Josten, San Diego's Kevin Meissner, and USF's Valentino were each named to the All-WCC first team for the second straight year.

Player of the Year: Rob Valentino, San Francisco
Co-Freshmen of the Year: Stephen McCarthy, Santa Clara & Ciaran O'Brien, San Diego
Defensive Player of the Year: Luis Robles, Portland
Coach of the Year: Cameron Rast, Santa Clara

First Team
Nick Blanco, LMU - JR - F - Littleton, CO
Bobby Burling, LMU - SR - F/D - Monument, CO
Michael Caso, USD - SR - F - Newhall, CA
Keith DeVey, SCU - SR - M/F - Kula, HI
Matthew Fitzgerald, SMC - SR - F - Castro Valley, CA
Ryan Guy, USD - SR - F - Carlsbad, CA
George Josten, GON - JR - F - Idaho Falls, ID
Kevin Meissner, USD - SR - M - San Diego, CA
Luis Robles, POR - SR - GK - Sierra Vista, AZ
Chris Sanders, POR - JR - F - Federal Way, WA
Rob Valentino, USF - JR - D - Cave Creek, AZ

Second Team
Diego Barrera, LMU - JR - F/M - Thousand Oaks, CA
Alex Elliott, POR - SO - F - Vancouver, B.C.
Dylan Leslie, SMC - FR - M - Lancaster, CA
Kevin Long, USF - SR - D - Irvine, CA
Peter Lowry, SCU - JR - F/M - Fair Oaks, CA
Ciaran O'Brien, USD - FR - M - Tacoma, WA
John Palladino, GON - JR - M - Spokane, WA
Chris Rodd, USF - JR - D - Danville, CA
Geremy Uhl, USF - SR - GK - Cypress, CA
Erik Ustruck, SCU - SR - M - St. Louis, MO
Austin Washington, GON - JR - D - Spokane, WA

Honorable Mention
Desmond Brooks, SMC; Joseph Buttitta, SCU; Aaron Chandler, USF; Alex Christlieb, SMC; Matt Dallman, POR; Jawaan Delaney, LMU; Tim Grey, USD; Matt Hatzke, SCU; Amaechi Igwe, SCU; Brian Martin, SCU; Stephen McCarthy, SCU; Jide Ogunbiyi, SCU; Sam Reeder, USD; John Reha, GON; Jamil Roberts, SCU; Ben Sawyer, GON; Collen Warner, POR; Junior Ybarra, LMU

All-Freshman Team
Conor Chinn, USF - F - San Diego, CA
Jeff Cosgriff, SCU - M - San Bruno, CA
Logan Emory, POR - D - Boise, ID
Tim Grey, USD - D - Port Orchard, WA
Amaechi Igwe, SCU - F - Belmont, CA
Dylan Leslie, SMC - M - Lancaster, CA
Stephen McCarthy, SCU - M - Colleyville, TX
Ciaran O'Brien, USD - M - Tacoma, WA
Tye Perdido, GON - F - Kula, HI
Ryan Peterman, USD - D - Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Collen Warner, POR - M - Denver, CO