{{ article.title }}

WCC Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams Announced

Nov. 15, 2011

Complete Release Get Acrobat Reader | WCC on Twitter | WCC on Facebook | WCC on YouTube

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- Heading into the final week of the 2011 season, five West Coast Conference men's soccer teams remained in contention for the WCC title. Saint Mary's won on the final day to claim its first ever WCC championship, and head coach Adam Cooper was recognized as WCC Coach of the Year. San Diego junior Dan Delgado is the WCC Player of the Year. Portland sophomore Ryan Kawulok is the WCC Defensive Player of the Year. San Francisco junior Brendan Roslund is the inaugural Goalkeeper of the Year and Clark Phillips from Gonzaga is the Freshman of the Year.

Delgado is the third consecutive Player of the Year for the Toreros. Ryan Peterman won the honor in 2009 and Patrick Wallen was last year's WCC Player of the Year. Delgado, a midfielder, was second in the WCC with .42 assists per game in conference play. He was also fifth in the conference with .75 points per game in twelve WCC matches.

Kawulok, the WCC Defensive Player of the Year, anchored a Pilots defense that saw the team run off a six-match winning streak during conference play.

San Francisco junior Brendan Roslund is the WCC Goalkeeper of the Year in the first year that this award has been handed out. In WCC contests, Roslund led the conference in save percentage (.862), saves (75 total) and saves per match (6.25 per match). Overall, Roslund ranks fifth in the NCAA with 101 total saves.

Clark Phillips from Gonzaga is the WCC Freshman of the Year. Phillips also received All-WCC Honorable Mention. In Phillips' inaugural campaign, the freshman finished tied for first in the WCC with four goals and was second in the conference with .92 points per game during WCC play.

After leading Saint Mary's to its first ever WCC title and second overall NCAA tournament berth, Adam Cooper was named the WCC Coach of the Year, the second time that he has received the honor (2009). The Gaels defeated San Diego 1-0 on Sunday, November 13 to earn the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA tournament.

The Gaels will travel to Cal State Bakersfield on Thursday, November 17 for a first-round NCAA Tournament matchup against the Roadrunners. Kick-off is set for 7 p.m. PT.

2011 West Coast Conference Player of the Year
Dan Delgado, Jr., MF, San Diego

2011 West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year
Ryan Kawulok, So., Portland

2011 West Coast Conference Goalkeeper of the Year
Brendan Roslund, Jr.., San Francisco

2011 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year
Clark Phillips, F, Gonzaga

2011 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year
Adam Cooper, Saint Mary's


Player Yr. Pos. School
Mykell Bates Sr. D Santa Clara
Agustin Cazarez Sr. MF Saint Mary's
Dan Delgado Jr. MF San Diego
Steven Evans So. MF Portland
Erik Hurtado Jr. F Santa Clara
Artur Jozkowicz Sr. F/MF Loyola Marymount
Ryan Kawulok So. D Portland
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp So. D San Diego
Michael Nielsen Sr. MF Portland
Brendan Roslund Jr. GK San Francisco
Brandon Zimmerman Sr. MF Santa Clara


Player Yr. Pos. School
Miguel Aguilar Fr. F San Francisco
Malcolm Alugas Sr. F Saint Mary's
Jose Cabeza Jr. MF Saint Mary's
Phil Da Silva Sr. F/MF Loyola Marymount
Julian Godinez RS-Sr. MF Saint Mary's
Nick Hamer So. MF Gonzaga
Doug Herrick Sr. GK Saint Mary's
Tyler Krumpe Sr. D Loyola Marymount
James Matern RS-So. MF Gonzaga
Josh Phillips So. D Gonzaga
Stephen Posa Sr. F San Diego

Connor Barbaree (Portland); Charles Blase (San Diego); Derek Boggs (Portland); Ricardo Carrillo (Portland); Wesley Culver (Santa Clara); Justin Grider (Saint Mary's); Larry Jackson (Santa Clara); Vegard Karlsen (San Francisco); Eric Masch (Santa Clara); Logan McDaniel (Loyola Marymount); Conor McFadden (San Diego); John McFarlin (Loyola Marymount); Connor Mitchell (Santa Clara); Trevor Newquist (Saint Mary's); Kevin Orozco (San Francisco); Clark Phillips (Gonzaga); David Romney (San Francisco)


Player Pos. School
Miguel Aguilar F San Francisco
Derek Boggs MF Portland
Thomas Fiskerstrand D San Diego
Riley Hanley MF Saint Mary's
John McFarlin MF Loyola Marymount
Nate Pacheco F Gonzaga
Clark Phillips F Gonzga
David Romney D San Francisco
Dylan Seedman D Loyola Marymount
Glenn Vass MF Santa Clara
Brian Visser D San Francisco