{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2010 Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Nov. 17, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

img src="http://grfx.cstv.com/graphics/icon-acrosmall.gif" width="9" height="10" border="0" alt="Get Acrobat Reader">

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The West Coast Conference announced today that University of San Diego sophomore forward Patrick Wallen has been named the 2010 West Coast Conference Player of the Year. Wallen, who was selected by vote of the conference head coaches, is San Diego's second consecutive WCC Player of the Year after Ryan Peterman won the honor last season.

Cam Rast, who led Santa Clara to a share of the WCC regular season championship with Loyola Marymount, was named the 2010 WCC Men's Soccer Coach of the Year. In addition, defender Roger Downes of Loyola Marymount was named WCC Defensive Player of the Year and Portland midfielder/forward Steven Evans was selected as WCC Freshman of the Year.

The WCC also announced its all-conference and all-freshman teams, with Portland landing three players on the first-team and Loyola Marymount, San Diego and Santa Clara having two first-team selections apiece.

Wallen led the West Coast Conference with 12 goals on the season earning 25 points overall. Wallen, a native of Vasterus, Sweden, had four multiple goal games throughout the season (10/10 vs. Gonzaga, 10/17 at Santa Clara, 11/05 at Gonzaga, and 11/14 vs. Saint Mary's). He recorded the second highest shots total with 52 and tallied 26 shots on goal for a .500 SOG percentage. He led the conference with five game-winning goals, and was a perfect 3-for-3 on penalty kicks. In WCC action, Wallen scored 10 of his 12 goals as well as all five of his game-winning goals.

Downes was the anchor of LMU's defense that finished the regular season with the second-lowest goals-against-average in the WCC at 1.07. The GAA is the third-lowest season GAA in program history. Downes started all 20 matches and led the team in minutes played (1798), helping the Lions to post five shutouts. His defensive leadership shone through on a backline that featured two first-time defenders in converted midfielder Logan McDaniel and converted forward Jonas Reiter. Downes is the first LMU player since Matt Kovar in 2004 to earn WCC Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Evans, a midfielder, was an integral part of the Pilots attack this fall. During conference play, he was second on the team with three goals. Overall, the native of Portland finished with four goals and a team-high four assists. Evans is Portland's first WCC Freshman of the Year selection since Michael Gavin in 2004.

Rast, a Santa Clara alum, has led his alma mater to six NCAA tournaments and four WCC Championships since taking over the Bronco men's soccer program in 2002. In his ninth year as SCU head coach, the 2010 Broncos went unbeaten in 13 of 14 games to close out the regular season and win the conference title. During that streak, Rast reached the 100-win milestone as a head coach and has moved into third place all-time in WCC coaching victories with 53. The announcement of Rast being named the 2010 WCC 'Coach of the Year' marks the fourth time he has earned the honor (2003, 2006, 2007).

Player of the Year: Patrick Wallen, USD
Defensive Player of the Year: Roger Downes, LMU
Freshman of the Year: Stevan Evans, UP
Coach of the Year: Cam Rast, SCU

2010 All-WCC First Team
Rafael Baca, LMU
Mykell Bates, SCU
Roger Downes, LMU
Austin Guerrero POR
Erik Hurtado , SCU
Ryan Kawulok, POR
Dylan Leslie, SMC
Cory Norris, USD
Jarad vanSchaik, POR
Patrick Wallen, USD
Justin Warren, USF

2010 All-WCC Second Team
Malcolm Alugas, SMC
Bryan Burke, USF
Victor Cortez, USF
Steven Evans, POR
Stefan Thor Eyesteinsson, GON
Doug Herrick, SMC
Artur Jozkowicz, LMU
Ryan Luke, POR
David Ponce, LMU
Stephen Posa, USD
Brandon Zimmerman, SCU

2010 All-WCC Honorable Mention
Connor Barbaree, POR; Murphy Campbell, SCU;, Marcelo Carminatti , USD; Wesley Culver, SCU; Mark Daus, SCU; Dan Delgado, USD; Christian Duke, USD; Colin Flynn, GON; Philippe Garre, GON; Jordan Grider, SMC; Nick Hamer, GON; Collin Harrison, GON; Vegard Karlsen, USF; Kevin Klasila (SCU), Nick Love, GON; Eric Masch, SCU; Jack McCormack, LMU; Logan McDaniel, LMU; Trevor Newquist, SMC; Vincent Ocampo, LMU; James Partee, GON

2010 All-WCC Freshman Team
Christian Alvarado, LMU
Ryan Caballero, GON
Greg Carter, GON
Mark Daus, SCU
Stevan Evans, POR
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp, USD
Nick Hamer, GON
Thomas Iwasaki, POR
Keigo Kameya, SCU
Vegard Karlsen, USF
Patrick Watson, SMC