{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2014 Men's Soccer All-Conference Team

Nov. 18, 2014

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

2014 All-WCC Men's Soccer Team   Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - San Diego claimed its second West Coast Conference Championship in three seasons in 2014 and dominated the major individual honors and the All-WCC teams. The Toreros captured four of the five major individual honors and five earned spots on the All-WCC teams with three landing first team honors.

San Diego senior midfielder Connor Brandt captured WCC Player of the Year honors, while Torero senior defender Julian Ringhof collected Defender of the Year accolades. Saint Mary's senior Andre Rawls was tabbed as the Goalkeeper of the Year, while San Diego goalkeeper Thomas Olsen was selected as the Freshman of the Year.

San Diego's Seamus McFadden won Coach of the Year honors. It marks the second accolade in the last three seasons for McFadden and the ninth overall for the Torero mentor, extending the conference record. All five individual awards - including the all-conference teams - were voted on by the WCC's eight head coaches.

Brandt is the first Torero to take home WCC Player of the Year honors since San Diego won three consecutive awards ending in 2011. The 11th Torero to take top player honors, Brandt enjoyed a remarkable senior campaign, sharing the WCC lead in goals (4) and points (12) during league action.

Rawls was the final line of defense for a stingy Gael defensive unit, which posted a 0.57 GAA during conference play. The senior elevated posted a 0.85 GAA with 36 saves and a league-high three shutouts. The Goalkeeper of the Year award was instituted in 2011 and Rawls is the first Saint Mary's keeper selected.

Ringhof is the eighth Torero named Defensive Player of the Year and the first since Scott Burcar collected back-to-back awards in 2002-03. A Capital One Academic All-District 8 selection, Ringhof keyed a San Diego defensive unit that allowed a league-low four goals in 630 minutes of WCC play for a miniscule 0.57 GAA.

Olsen is the fifth Torero to capture Freshman of the Year honors and the first since Patrick Wallen was tabbed in 2009. Olsen ranked second among league leaders in GAA (0.36), allowing just two goals in six league matches, while corralling 12 saves.

In his 36th season as the top Torero, McFadden, lifted San Diego (10-5-4, 6-1-0 WCC) to a strong season highlighted by a 1-0 shutout victory against No. 1 UCLA. The win against the top-ranked Bruins marked the second straight season San Diego has defeated an opponent ranked No. 1 in the land. The Toreros defeated No. 1 Cal in 2013.

All told, six programs placed at least one student-athlete on the All-WCC First Team, led by three from Saint Mary's and San Diego. Loyola Marymount and San Francisco each had a pair of selections. Due to a tie in the voting, the first team features 12 student-athletes, causing the second team to have 10 members instead of 11.

San Diego will represent the WCC in the 2014 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship, opening play Thursday, Nov. 20 when it hosts the Titans of Cal State Fullerton. Match time is set for 7:00 p.m. at Torero Stadium.

In all, the WCC has made 88 NCAA appearances, culminating in 17 Final Four trips and five national titles.

2014 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year
Seamus McFadden, San Diego
2014 West Coast Conference Player of the Year
Connor Brandt, San Diego
2014 West Coast Conference Defender of the Year
Julian Ringhof, San Diego
2014 West Coast Conference Goalkeeper of the Year
Andre Rawls, Saint Mary's
2014 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year
Thomas Olsen, San Diego


Player Yr. Pos. School
Miguel Aguilar Sr. F San Francisco
Alex Braman So. D Saint Mary's
Connor Brandt Sr. M San Diego
Torrey DeArmas Jr. F San Diego
Danny Kirkland Sr. M San Francisco
Lars Ludwigs Sr. MF Gonzaga
Craig Nitti Sr. D Loyola Marymount
Adrien Perez So. MF Loyola Marymount
Andre Rawls Sr. GK Saint Mary's
Julian Ringhof Sr. D San Diego
Eddie Sanchez So. M Portland
Rafael Sanchez So. D Saint Mary's


Player Yr. Pos. School
Tristan Blackmon Fr. F Pacific
Sebastian De Rada Sr. MF Loyola Marymount
Carlo Eikani So. F Saint Mary's
Ryan Masch Jr. F Santa Clara
Kendall McIntosh Jr. GK Santa Clara
Thomas Olsen Fr. GK San Diego
Clark Phillips Sr. F Gonzaga
Hugo Rhoads Jr. D Portland
David Romney Sr. D San Francisco
Darragh Vieyra Jr. M San Diego

Joshua Adachi, Pacific; Valdemar Andersen, Santa Clara; Connor Bevans, Gonzaga; Derek Boggs, Portland; Julio Cervantes, Pacific; Christian De Luna, San Francisco; Carlos Delgadillo, Santa Clara; Erik Edwardson, Portland; Steve Eneme, Santa Clara; Michael Escobar, Portland; Zack Hamer, Gonzaga; Chase Hauser, San Francisco; Will Kendall, Saint Mary's; Graison Le, Gonzaga; Aaron Lombardi, San Francisco; Kyle Macleod, San Diego; Alvaro Madrigal, Loyola Marymount; Jack McCracken, Loyola Marymount; Max Ornstil, Santa Clara; Manny Padilla, San Francisco; Vince Paldino, Loyola Marymount; Leon Prikhodovskiy, Loyola Marymount; Davi Ramos, San Francisco; Michael Semenza, Saint Mary's; Josh Smith, San Francisco; David Sigurdsson, Gonzaga; Ben White, Gonzaga; Brandon Zambrano, Portland


Player Pos. School
Tristan Blackmon F Pacific
Carlos Delgadillo F Santa Clara
Steve Eneme F Santa Clara
Bryce Kaminiski F San Francisco
Antonio Lokossou M Saint Mary's
Aaron Lombardi M San Francisco
Alvaro Madrigal F Loyola Marymount
Thomas Olsen GK San Diego
Manny Padilla D San Francisco
Ben White D Gonzaga
Brandon Zambrano F Portland