{{ article.title }}

Loyola Marymount and Gonzaga Headline All-WCC Men's Soccer Teams

Nov. 19, 2013

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv | Interactive Schedule

2013 WCC Men's Soccer All-WCC Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – Loyola Marymount won its first outright West Coast Conference Championship on Saturday and the Lions, along with a resurgent Gonzaga squad, litter the 2013 All-WCC Men’s Soccer Teams. LMU posted a 9-2-1 league slate and secured its second title in four years with a 1-0 shutout win at Santa Clara. The Lions shared the 2010 trophy with the Broncos. 

Gonzaga senior midfielder Nick Hamer captured WCC Player of the Year honors, while teammate, senior defender Josh Phillips, was named WCC Defensive Player of the Year. LMU sophomore Paul Blanchette earned WCC Goalkeeper of the Year selection, while midfielder Eddie Sanchez of Portland was tabbed as the WCC Freshman of the Year. 

LMU’s Paul Krumpe was chosen by his peers as Coach of the Year for the second time overall and the first since 1999. The Lions are poised to make their sixth NCAA Tournament appearance under Krumpe. All five individual awards - including the all-conference teams - were voted on by the WCC's 10 head coaches. 

Hamer is the second Bulldog selected as WCC Player of the Year and the first since Jeff McAllister accomplished the feat in 1997. During league play, Hamer recorded three goals and three assists and helped Gonzaga to a six-victory improvement from 2012 and the program’s first double-digit win campaign since 2000. 

Philips, is the second Bulldog named WCC Defensive Player of the Year and the first since Nick Barclay did so in 2008. The senior helped Gonzaga post three shutouts during league play and post an overall GAA of 0.90 (2nd) and shared the WCC lead in shutouts (7). 

Blanchette is the first Lion named WCC Goalkeeper of the Year in the three-year history of the award. Blanchette led the WCC during league play in shutouts (5) and was second in GAA (0.94). As the final line of defense for LMU, Blanchette shared the league overall lead in shutouts (7) and was tops in GAA (0.85). 

Sanchez is the eighth Pilot to capture WCC Freshman of the Year honors and made an immediate impact, scoring a conference-best eight goals (three game-winners) during league play. The Portland rookie was tops in the WCC in overall points (27), goals (12) and game-winners (4). 

Loyola Marymount will represent the WCC in the 2013 NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship opening play Thursday, Nov. 21 at Stanford. Match time against the Cardinal is set for 7:00 p.m. at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium in Palo Alto. The winner will advance to face No. 15 seed Cal State Northridge Sunday at 7:00 p.m. 

In all, the WCC has made 87 NCAA appearances, culminating in 17 Final Four trips and five national titles. 

Coach of the Year: Paul Krumpe, Loyola Marymount
Player of the Year: Nick Hamer, Gonzaga
Defender of the Year: Josh Phillips, Gonzaga
Goalkeeper of the Year: Paul Blanchette, Loyola Marymount
Freshman of the Year: Eddie Sanchez, Portland 


Player Yr. Pos. School
Connor Brandt Jr. F San Diego
Robert Conner Jr. D Saint Mary’s
Nick Hamer Sr. M Gonzaga
Vegard Karlsen Sr. M San Francisco
John McFarlin Jr. M Loyola Marymount
Carlos Montes Sr. M Santa Clara
Craig Nitti Jr. D Loyola Marymount
Adrien Perez Fr. M Loyola Marymount
Josh Phillips Sr. D Gonzaga
Julian Ringhof Sr. D San Diego
Eddie Sanchez Fr. M/F Portland


Player Yr. Pos. School
Miguel Aguilar Jr. F San Francisco
Paul Blanchette So. GK Loyola Marymount
Ryan Caballero Sr. GK Gonzaga
Matthew Coffey Fr. M Portland
Mark Daus Sr. D Santa Clara
Torrey DeArmas So. M San Diego
Juan De Rada Jr. M Loyola Marymount
Mauricio Diaz De Leon Sr. M San Francisco
Harrison Hanley Sr. M/F Santa Clara
Clark Phillips Jr. F Gonzaga
Sean Sears Sr. M Loyola Marymount

2013 WCC Honorable Mention Selections
Conner Bevans, Gonzaga; Derek Boggs, Portland; Alex Braman, Saint Mary’s; Greg Carter, Gonzaga; Michael D’Arrigo, San Diego; Ryan Felix, Loyola Marymount; Connor Gaal, San Francisco; Elijah Galbraith-Knapp, San Diego; Justin Howard, Saint Mary’s; Liam Kelly, San Francisco; Lars Ludwigs, Gonzaga; Jack McCracken, Loyola Marymount; Kendall McIntosh, Santa Clara; Hugo Rhodes, Portland; Dylan Seedman, Loyola Marymount; Michael Semenza, Saint Mary’s; Joshua Smith, San Francisco; Keegan Smith, San Diego 


Player Pos. School
Alex Braman D Saint Mary’s
Edson Cardona F/M Santa Clara
Matthew Coffey M Portland
Christian De Luna D San Francisco
Mark Dotseth D Loyola Marymount
Connor Gaal GK San Francisco
Jakob Granlund F Gonzaga
Parker Holland M Santa Clara
Adrien Perez M Loyola Marymount
Eddie Sanchez M/F Portland
Michael Turner M San Diego