{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Men's Soccer All-Conference Team

Nov. 21, 2007

Complete All-WCC Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - The Santa Clara men's soccer team swept the West Coast Conference yearly awards, capping a regular season that saw the Broncos win their second straight WCC title after posting an undefeated 10-0-2 mark in league play. Senior Peter Lowry was tabbed for WCC Player of the Year honors, marking the second time in three years that an SCU player has received the league's top honor, while Head Coach Cameron Rast was named WCC Coach of the Year for the second straight season, and the third time in his career. Senior defender Jamil Roberts was named WCC Defensive Player of the Year, becoming the first Bronco since 2001 to receive the honor, and newcomer Jalil Anibaba received Freshman of the Year accolades.

Lowry is the fifth Bronco to be named WCC Player of the Year, and the first since former teammate Mehdi Ballouchy took home the top honor in 2005. Rast moved into elite company with this season's recognition, becoming just the third coach in conference history to earn WCC Coach of the Year accolades three times. Roberts led the stingiest defense in the conference en route to the top defensive honor, and Anibaba became the second straight SCU player to be named the league's top newcomer, following teammate Stephen McCarthy, who was named WCC Co-Freshman of the Year last season.

All seven WCC men's soccer teams were represented on the All-WCC first team, with Gonzaga's George Josten being named first team all-conference for the third straight season. Josten was the only repeat honoree on the first team this year, as 11 players earned All-WCC first team recognition for the first time. Portland and Santa Clara led the way with three All-WCC first team honorees apiece.

2007 WCC All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Peter Lowry, Santa Clara
Freshman of the Year: Jalil Anibaba, Santa Clara
Defensive Player of the Year: Jamil Roberts, Santa Clara
Coach of the Year: Cameron Rast, Santa Clara

First Team
Jalil Anibaba, SCU - FR - D - Davis, CA
Daniel DeGeer, USF - SR - M - Portland, OR
Alex Elliott, POR - JR - F - Vancouver, B.C.
Austin Guerrero, POR - FR - GK - Chula Vista, CA
George Josten, GON - SR - F - Idaho Falls, ID
Dylan Leslie, SMC - SO - M - Lancaster, CA
Peter Lowry, SCU - SR - M - Fair Oaks, CA
Jamil Roberts, SCU - SR - D - Fremont, CA
Chris Rodd, USF - SR - D - Danville, CA
Adam Sloustcher, LMU - SR - M/D - Pleasanton, CA
Collen Warner, POR - SO - M - Denver, CO
Tannen Wels, USD - SR - M - Orange County, CA

Second Team
Rafael Baca, LMU - FR - F/M - Lawndale, CA
Michael Gavin, POR - SR - D - Scottsdale, AZ
Tim Grey, USD - SO - D - Port Orchard, WA
Matt Hatzke, SCU - SR - D - San Jose, CA
Corey Heldreth, SMC - JR - D - Sumner, WA
Vito Higgins, GON - SR - GK - Kailua, HI
Colin Jennings, USD - SR - F - San Diego, CA
Stephen McCarthy, SCU - SO - M - Colleyville, TX
Brandon McDonald, USF - SR - M/D - Glendale, AZ
Sam Reeder, USD - JR - D - Lewisville, TX
Daniel Scott, GON - SR - D - Maui, HI
Austin Washington, GON - SR - D - Spokane, WA

All-Freshman Team
Jalil Anibaba, SCU - D - Davis, CA
Rafael Baca, LMU - F/M - Lawndale, CA
Bryan Burke, USF - F - Corona del Mar, CA
Victor Cortez, USF - D - El Sobrante, CA
Kyle Deremer, SMC - D - Omaha, NE
Philippe Garre, GON - M/F - Scottsdale, AZ
Austin Guerrero, POR - GK - Chula Vista, CA
Kevin Klasila, SCU - GK - Los Angeles, CA
Frankie Lopez, POR - M - McMinnville, OR
JD Penilton, USD - M - Portland, OR
Jarad vanSchaik, POR - M - Tualatin, OR
Kellen Wantulok, SCU - F - Boise, ID

Honorable Mention
David Blanchard, SMC; Kyle Deremer, SMC; Eric Fredback, POR; Dustin Guerrero, USD; JT Howlan, USD; Bryan Irwin, POR; Justin Kim, SMC; Kevin Klasila, SCU; Matt Marquess, SCU; Tyler Mehl, LMU; Jide Ogunbiyi, SCU; John Palladino, GON; JD Penilton, USD; Tye Perdido, GON; Kellen Wantulok, SCU