{{ article.title }}

Seven Toreros Earn 2007 All-Conference Honors

Nov. 21, 2007

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The University of San Diego men's soccer captain and senior midfielder Tannen Wels was honored with First Team All-WCC Honors along with six of his teammates. Senior forward Colin Jennings, junior defender Sam Reeder, and sophomore defender Tim Grey all made the Second Team All-WCC. Midfielder JD Penilton made the WCC All-Freshman team as well as Honorable Mention. Senior Forward Dustin Guerrero and sophomore forward JT Howlan also made the Honorable Mention team.

The Santa Clara men's soccer team swept the West Coast Conference yearly awards, capping a regular season that saw the Broncos win their second straight WCC title after posting an undefeated 10-0-2 mark in league play. Senior Peter Lowry was tabbed for WCC Player of the Year honors, marking the second time in three years that an SCU player has received the leagues top honor, while Head Coach Cameron Rast was named WCC Coach of the Year for the second straight season, and the third time in his career. Senior defender Jamil Roberts was named WCC Defensive Player of the Year, becoming the first Bronco since 2001 to receive the honor, and newcomer Jalil Anibaba received Freshman of the Year accolades.

Lowry is the fifth Bronco to be named WCC Player of the Year, and the first since former teammate Mehdi Ballouchy took home the top honor in 2005. Rast moved into elite company with this seasons recognition, becoming just the third coach in conference history to earn WCC Coach of the Year accolades three times. Roberts led the stingiest defense in the conference en route to the top defensive honor, and Anibaba became the second straight SCU player to be named the leagues top newcomer, following teammate Stephen McCarthy, who was named WCC Co-Freshman of the Year last season.

All seven WCC mens soccer teams were represented on the All-WCC first team, with Gonzagas George Josten being named first team all-conference for the third straight season. Josten was the only repeat honoree on the first team this year, as 11 players earned All-WCC first team recognition for the first time. Portland and Santa Clara led the way with three All-WCC first team honorees apiece.