{{ article.title }}

San Diego Falls in First Round of NCAA Playoffs

May 13, 2006

MALIBU, Calif. - The University of San Diego men's tennis team dropped their NCAA First Round match to the Horned Frogs of Texas Christian University by a score of 4-0 Saturday afternoon at the Ralphs-Straus Tennis Center on the campus of Pepperdine University.

Due to inclement weather, the match started later than originally scheduled. TCU took a quick 1-0 lead by claiming the doubles point. Jacopo Tezza and Kreigler Brink defeated Oscar Plotnik and Chris Coetzee 8-3 at the No. 3 spot while Cosmin Cotet and Andrew Mlendea defeated Jonas Mouly and Mirza Koristovic 8-2 at No. 2 doubles.

In singles, senior Oscar Plotnik was the only Torero to come away with a first-set win as he defeated Rafael Abreu of TCU 7-5. Pierrick Ysern, ranked 42nd nationally, dropped his first set to Mlendea, No. 34 in the nation, 6-2, but came back to take the second set by a score of 7-6. Jonas Mouly likewise came back from a first set loss to win his second set 6-3, but it would be too late for the Toreros to stage a comeback. Losses from Mirza Koristovic, Thomas Liversage, and Ryo Sekiguchi sealed the win for TCU who advance to Sunday's second round match to play host Pepperdine.

This weekend marked the Toreros' fourth straight trip to the NCAA postseason under 10th-year head coach Tom Hagedorn. Throughout the season, San Diego ranked as high as No. 23 in the nation and earned solid road wins over USC and Boise State. They finish the season with an overall record of 15-7.

Senior Pierrick Ysern, the 2005 NCAA National Runner-up, makes his third straight trip to the NCAA Singles Championship, to be played at Stanford beginning on May 25. He will team up with Thomas Liversage as the No. 24 ranked doubles team in the nation to participate in the NCAA Doubles Championship. This is only the second time that the USD men's program has advanced a team, an individual and a doubles team into the tournament in the same year.

Final ResultsTCU 4 San Diego 0

Singles1.#42 Pierrick Ysern (USD) vs. #34 Andrei Mlendea (TCU), DNF2.Oscar Plotnik (USD) vs. #91 Rafael Abreu (TCU), DNF3.Jacopo Tezza (TCU) def. Thomas Liversage (USD), 6-3, 6-14.Cosmin Cotet (TCU) def. Mirza Koristovic (USD) 6-2, 6-35.Radu Barbu (TCU) def. Ryo Sekiguchi (USD) 6-3, 6-36.Jonas Mouly (USD) vs. Jordan Freitas (TCU), DNF

Doubles1.#24 Ysern/Liversage (USD) vs. #27 Abreu/Freitas (TCU), DNF2.Cotet/Mlendea (TCU) def. Mouly/Koristovic (USD) 8-23.Tezza/Brink (TCU) def. Plotnik/Coetzee (USD) 8-3