{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine Earns No. 9 Seed for National Team Indoor Championships

Feb. 9, 2007

MALIBU, Calif. - The No. 10-ranked Pepperdine men's tennis team garnered the ninth seed for the 2007 USTA/ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship which is hosted by the University of Illinois at the Midtown Tennis Center in Chicago from Feb. 16-19. Pepperdine will meet eighth-seeded Notre Dame in the opening round on Fri., Feb. 16 at 10 a.m. (PT).

Top-ranked and defending indoor champion Georgia claimed the No. 1 seed, while Ohio State, UCLA, Virginia and Mississippi rounded out the Top 5 seeds, respectively. The field also includes Baylor, Boise State, Duke, Miami, Notre Dame, Oklahoma State, Pennsylvania, Stanford, Texas, Virginia and host Illinois.

The USTA/ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship is the premier indoor collegiate team event and is the ITA's longest running tournament.

Pepperdine will be making its 22nd appearance at the Indoors and has advanced to the final match four times including 1982, 1983, 1986 and most recently in 2006. The Waves captured the title in 1982 and 1986, defeating Georgia and SMU, respectively, in the final match. The Waves own an all-time record of 41-26 at the Indoors.

Last year, fourth-seeded Pepperdine fell to second-seed Georgia, 4-0, in the final match, but later avenged the loss when it defeated the Bulldogs in the NCAA Championship for the program's first-ever NCAA title.

Pepperdine became one of three schools which was the runner-up at the National Indoors, but claimed the NCAA title the same year. USC and Stanford did it twice, with the Trojans winning in 1976 and 1991, while the Cardinal captured the 1980 and 1996 titles. Three schools have won both the Indoors title and the NCAA title in the same year on nine different occasions with Stanford accomplishing the feat seven times. UCLA captured both titles in 1984, while Illinois most recently won both titles in 2003.

For a complete schedule of the tournament visit the official web site of the 2007 National Men's Team Indoor Championship at www.nationalteamindoors.com.