{{ article.title }}

San Diego, Portland Named WCC Men's Tennis Weekly Honor

April 1, 2015

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif.-University of San Diego junior Jordan Angus has been named the West Coast Conference Singles Player of the Week, while University of Portland seniors Reid deLaubenfels and Steffen Dierauf earn doubles weekly honor in the sport of men's tennis, the league announced Wednesday.

USD started the week on March 28 with a 4-0 win over then No. 55 San Francisco, where Angus defeated James Tallman 6-4, 6-4 at the No. 3 position for the Toreros right after he and partner Filip Vittek took the doubles point over Bernardo Saraiva and Nils Skajaa 6-1. The following day, USD swept Santa Clara by a 4-0 team score. Angus teamed with Uros Petronijevic in the doubles No. 1 spot where they defeated Ilya Ostintsev and Sam Bertram 6-0. He moved to the No. 2 flight, where Angus battled Ashot Khacharyan 6-1, 4-3 in an unfinished match. For the season, Angus sports a 15-7 overall mark, is 13-3 in dual matches, and 3-0 in league play. The London, England native collects his first WCC career weekly honor, while the Torero's have garnered three weekly singles player accolades this season.

Portland classmates' and reigning WCC doubles team of the week, deLaubenfels and Dierauf guided the Pilots to a 2-0 team mark with league wins over Pacific (2-4) and Saint Mary's (4-0). The senior duo earned a 6-4 victory at the No. 1 doubles slot against Miguel Diaz and Jose Chamba, and then denied the Gaels' top duo of Samuel Bloore and Thomas Hunt, 6-4. The senior tandem improved to 9-2 overall in dual doubles play and 3-1 in league action at the No. 1 position. The Pilots are now 10-4 overall and 3-1 in WCC play this spring.

Also nominated in singles... Miguel Diaz Pacific; Luca Marquard, Pepperdine, Bernardo Saraiva, San Francisco; Portland doubles... Marlon Brand and Daniel Alameh, Pacific; Jordan Angus and Filip Vittek, San Diego

March 31: Jordan Angus, San Diego
March 24: Alvaro Nazal, Gonzaga
March 17: Hayden Smith, Gonzaga
March 8: Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara
March 3: Filip Vittek, San Diego
February 23: Eroll Smith, Loyola Marymount
February 18: Filip Vittek, San Diego

March 31: Reid deLaubenfels and Steffen Dierauf, Portland
March 24: Reid deLaubenfels and Steffen Dierauf, Portland
March 17: Errol Smith and Joat Farah, Loyola Marymount
March 8: Cristobal Rivera and sophomore Charles Boyce, Loyola Marymount
March 3: Guilherme Hadlich and Rakshay Thakkar, Pepperdine
February 23: Bernardo Saraiva and Nils Skajaa, San Francisco
February 18: None