{{ article.title }}

San Diego, Pacific Earn WCC Men's Tennis Weekly Honor

April 7, 2015

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif.-- University of San Diego sophomore Filip Vittek has been named the West Coast Conference Singles Player of the Week, while University of the Pacific Miguel Diaz and Jose Chamba earn doubles weekly honor in the sport of men's tennis, the league announced Tuesday.

Vittek guided No. 17 San Diego to a 2-0 showing last week with wins over then No. 41 Pepperdine (4-1) and Saint Mary's (6-1) in league play. He started the week with a tie breaker win against Stefan Menichella by score 7-6 (7-3), 7-5 at the No. 2 spot. Three days later, Vittek moved to the No. 1 slot where he downed Sam Bloore 6-3, 6-1. The win over the Waves marked the Toreros first-ever victory at Pepperdine. For the season, the Trnava, Slovakia, native sports a singles ledger with a 21-6 overall record and is 14-2 in dual matches. The 2014 First Team All-WCC honoree earns his third weekly honor and fourth career nod as he was named Doubles Teams of the Week with teammate Clarke Spinosa on April 22, 2014.

Pacific duo Diaz and Chamba went 1-0 at No. 1 doubles, helping the Tigers claim the doubles point at BYU. On Friday, they defeated the Cougars' Andrey Goryachkov and Jacob Sullivan 6-0 at the No. 1 flight. The victory also marked the first time Goryachkov and Sullivan did not win a set in doubles play. Diaz, a Castro Valley, California native, and Chamba a native of Guayaquil, Ecuador collect their first career weekly honor and the first for the Tigers since teammate Sem Verbeek received the honor April 8, 2014. For the season, the twosome sports an overall 10-8 mark.

Also nominated in singles ... Miguel Diaz Pacific; Pedro Iamachkine, Pepperdine; Bernardo Saraiva, San Francisco; doubles... Luca Marquard and Lautaro Pane, Pepperdine; Jordan Angus and Filip Vittek, San Diego

April 6: Filip Vittek, San Diego
March 31: Jordan Angus, San Diego
March 24: Alvaro Nazal, Gonzaga
March 17: Hayden Smith, Gonzaga
March 8: Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara
March 3: Filip Vittek, San Diego
February 23: Errol Smith, Loyola Marymount
February 18: Filip Vittek, San Diego

April 6: Miguel Diaz and Jose Chamba, Pacific
March 31: Reid deLaubenfels and Steffen Dierauf, Portland
March 24: Reid deLaubenfels and Steffen Dierauf, Portland
March 17: Errol Smith and Joat Farah, Loyola Marymount
March 8: Cristobal Rivera and Charles Boyce, Loyola Marymount
March 3: Guilherme Hadlich and Rakshay Thakkar, Pepperdine
February 23: Bernardo Saraiva and Nils Skajaa, San Francisco
February 18: None