{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Seeds For Upcoming WCC Tennis Championships

April 16, 2009

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The West Coast Conference announced the seeds for this weekend's WCC Men's and Women's Tennis Championships held at the Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, CA on April 17-19.

Pepperdine secured the No. 1 seed in both the men's and women's tournaments. On the men's side, San Diego is the No. 2 seed, followed by Portland and San Francisco. Saint Mary's is the No. 5 seed, Gonzaga is the No. 6 seed, and Loyola Marymount and Santa Clara are the No. 7 and No. 8 seeds, respectively.

In the women's field, the Waves are followed by No. 2 seeded San Diego, No. 3 seed Saint Mary's, and No. 4 seeded San Francisco. Loyola Marymount is the No. 5 seed, followed by Santa Clara, Portland, and Gonzaga.

The Pepperdine men's team has historically dominated the WCC Championships, winning 18 straight titles and 39 overall. San Diego is the only other current WCC school to have won the men's title, earning back-to-back crowns in 1988 and 1989.

On the women's side, the Wave women have been nearly as dominant as the men's team, claiming 20 of the last 21 WCC Championships, including the last six titles. Loyola Marymount is the only other current WCC member to have won a women's championship, claiming their first-ever title in 2002.

2009 WCC Men's Tennis Championship Seeds
1. Pepperdine
2. San Diego
3. Portland
4. San Francisco
5. Saint Mary's
6. Gonzaga
7. Loyola Marymount
8. Santa Clara

2009 WCC Women's Tennis Championship Seeds
1. Pepperdine
2. San Diego
3. Saint Mary's
4. San Francisco
5. Loyola Marymount
6. Santa Clara
7. Portland
8. Gonzaga