{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Men's Tennis All-Conference Team

April 23, 2009

San Bruno, Calif. - Pepperdine's Omar Altmann was named WCC Player of the Year, succeeding his former doubles partner, graduated All-American Andre Begemann. After going 17-5 from the No. 2 singles position, Altmann was recently ranked No. 46 in the nation, the second highest ranked men's tennis player in the West Coast Conference.

Fellow Wave Alex Llompart garnered the WCC Freshman of the Year honor. Llompart arrived to Pepperdine as one of the top players in Puerto Rico and played the majority of the season at the No. 3 singles spot, where he went 17-4. Pepperdine Head Coach Adam Steinberg was voted Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career with the Waves, after leading his team to its 40th West Coast Conference crown.

On the All-WCC first team, Altmann and Llompart were joined by another Wave, No. 35-ranked in the country Bassam Beidas. Former Freshman of the Year, No. 52-ranked San Diego's Dean Jackson was also named to the list, after going undefeated in singles play at the WCC Championships last weekend. Portland's Filip Zivkovic also appeared on the list for a second straight year after leading the Pilots at the No. 1 position. Rounding out the first team squad was San Francisco's Tommy Tu, who posted a 13-8 record at No. 1 singles this season and was named to last year's all-conference second team.

Saint Mary's and San Diego had two players selected to the singles all-conference second team. The Gaels' Lucas Tirelli received his second consecutive selection to the all-conference second team, while Andrea Zannoni earned his very first all-conference honor. San Diego's Charl Wolmarans and Chris Coetzee both received first ever honors as well. The two remaining players named to the second team were both members of last year's squad: Loyola Marymount's Ivan Lopez and Santa Clara's Jay Wong.

As for doubles, three different programs were represented on the all-conference first team. March's WCC Doubles Team of the Month and No. 10-ranked team in the country, Bassam Beidas and Omar Altmann of Pepperdine, were on that list, joined by San Diego's No. 1 doubles pair, Dean Jackson and Nils Schive, and Portland's No. 1 duo of Evan Schleining and Filip Zivkovic.

On the doubles all-conference second team, San Francisco's Asaf Cohen and Tommy Tu, who both appeared on last year's all-conference second team with different partners, partnered up this year and were selected. San Diego's Charl Wolmarans and Chris Coetzee, who were both named to the singles second team, made it to the doubles second team as well. Last but not least, Loyola Marymount's Ivan Lopez and Nick Von Der Ahe took home their first doubles all-conference nod after a solid season at No. 3 doubles for the Lions.




COACH OF THE YEAR: Adam Steinberg, PEP


First Team
Alex Llompart, PEP
Bassam Beidas, PEP
Dean Jackson, USD
Filip Zivkovic, POR
Omar Altmann, PEP
Tommy Tu, USF

Second Team
Andrea Zannoni, SMC
Charl Wolmarans, USD
Chris Coetzee, USD
Ivan Lopez, LMU
Jay Wong, SCU
Lucas Tirelli, SMC

Honorable Mention
Aram Abgaryan, LMU
Kenzo Hirakawa-Wong, SCU
Kyle Dandan, SCU


First Team
Bassam Beidas/Omar Altmann, PEP
Dean Jackson/Nils Schive, USD
Evan Schleining/Filip Zivkovic, POR

Second Team
Asaf Cohen/Tommy Tu, USF
Charl Wolmarans/Chris Coetzee, USD
Ivan Lopez/Nick Von Der Ahe, LMU

Honorable Mention
Achim Christner/Sherif Hamdy, SMC