{{ article.title }}

San Diego Crowned 2011 WCC Men's Tennis Champions

April 23, 2011


SAN DIEGO, Calif. --- The 2011 West Coast Conference Men's Tennis Championships, presented by the Andre Agassi Foundation for Education, saw a new conference champion. The University of San Diego defeated No. 2 seed Santa Clara University, 4-1, at the Barnes Tennis Center on Saturday afternoon. This was the first time since 1989 that the Toreros have won the conference title.

The Toreros won at the No. 1 and 3 doubles spots to take the early lead. Up 1-0, the Toreros extended their lead with singles wins at No. 1 and 4. Santa Clara kept it close, though, with a win at the No. 5 spot and splitting sets on No. 2. With the lead at 3-1, it was Nikola Bubnic that secured the team victory with a 6-4, 7-5 score at No. 4 singles.

Saint Mary's finished third place after a four-hour duel with San Francisco. The Gaels outlasted the Dons by a score of 4-3 with the clinching match coming at No. 3 singles with a 7-5, 2-6, 6-4 victory.

For updated Championship (and consolation) brackets and scores, please visit CHAMPIONSHIP CENTRAL .

#1 San Diego def. #2 Santa Clara, 4-1

1. Dean Jackson/Patrick Pohlmann (USD)def.Nico Vinel/Maxime Armengaud (SCU) 8-4
2. Nikola Bubnic/Nils Schive (USD) trailsKyle Dandan/Tom Pham (SCU) 5-7 (DNF)
3. Clarke Spinosa/Thibaut Visy (USD)def.John Lamble/Eugene Muchynski (SCU) 8-3

1. Dean Jackson (USD)def.Kyle Dandan (SCU) 6-3, 6-2
2. Patrick Pohlmann (USD)splitMaxime Armengaud (SCU) 2-6, 6-4 (DNF)
3. Nikola Bubnic (USD)def. John Lamble 6-4, 7-5
4. Clarke Spinosa (USD)def. Tom Pham (SCU) 6-2, 6-3
5. Nico Vinel (SCU) def. Thibaut Visy (USD) 6-3, 6-2
6. Emilio Mora (USD) leadsKeith Kamono (SCU) 6-4 (DNF)