{{ article.title }}

Santa Clara Sweeps Men's Tennis Weekly Awards

April 14, 2015

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Santa Clara men's tennis swept the weekly West Coast Conference Player of the Week awards this week, courtesy of the performances put forth by seniors Sam Bertram and Ilya Osintsev this past weekend. Bertram took home the honors in singles and also earned the doubles award while partnering with Osintsev.

"Sam and Ilya are definitely deserving of these awards this week," said head coach Derek Mills. "Both guys have been working hard all season and they fought relentlessly against Saint Mary's and Pacific. I am very proud of the senior leadership that they are displaying."

Bertram, claiming his first singles Player of the Week award of the season, went undefeated over this past weekend in singles play. The Aussie challenged Jacob Lagman from Saint Mary's on Friday and was dialed in from the opening serve. After rolling in the first set, he would eventually cruise to a comfortable 6-2, 6-2 victory and clinch the win for the Broncos in the process. The following afternoon, Bertram stood tall in a tightly-contested match against Pacific's Daniel Alameh. After splitting the first two sets, the Santa Clara senior rallied to capture the third set tiebreak and his ninth singles victory of the year.

Combining with Osintsev in doubles action, the No. 1 Santa Clara tandem helped the Broncos capture two crucial doubles point victories against the Gaels and the Tigers. Taking on the Saint Mary's duo of Samuel Bloore and Thomas Hunt, the Santa Clara senior duo helped spoil the Gaels' Senior Day with a 6-3 victory. 24 hours later, Bertram and Osintsev continued their winning ways with a 6-4 winning result over Pacific's No. 1 pairing of Jose Chamba and Miguel Diaz.

Also nominated in singles...Pedro Iamachkine, Pepperdine; Ciaran Fitzgerald, San Diego; Bernardo Saraiva, San Francisco; Ashot Khacharyan, Santa Clara doubles... Guilherme Hadlich and Rakshay Thakkar Pepperdine; Thomas Takemoto and Vasco Valverde, San Francisco; and Sam Bertram and Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara

April 14: Sam Bertram, Santa Clara
April 6: Filip Vittek, San Diego
March 31: Jordan Angus, San Diego
March 24: Alvaro Nazal, Gonzaga
March 17: Hayden Smith, Gonzaga
March 8: Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara
March 3: Filip Vittek, San Diego
February 23: Errol Smith, Loyola Marymount
February 18: Filip Vittek, San Diego

April 21: Sam Bertram and Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara
April 14: Sam Bertram and Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara
April 6: Miguel Diaz and Jose Chamba, Pacific
March 31: Reid deLaubenfels and Steffen Dierauf, Portland
March 24: Reid deLaubenfels and Steffen Dierauf, Portland
March 17: Errol Smith and Joat Farah, Loyola Marymount
March 8: Cristobal Rivera and Charles Boyce, Loyola Marymount
March 3: Guilherme Hadlich and Rakshay Thakkar, Pepperdine
February 23: Bernardo Saraiva and Nils Skajaa, San Francisco
February 18: None