{{ article.title }}

San Diego and Pepperdine Earns Men's Tennis NCAA Berth

April 29, 2015

(Courtesy of Pepperdine and San Diego Media Relations

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - University of San Diego and Pepperdine University men's tennis teams are set to represent the West Coast Conference in postseason play in the NCAA Tournament, the national office announced it Tuesday afternoon.

The NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2015 NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.

Pepperdine (17-9) on the year will meet No. 21 Florida (14-8) after finishing runner-up to No. 22 San Diego last week at the West Coast Conference Tournament. The Waves are making their 38th appearance at the NCAA Tournament since 1974. The Waves and Gators will square off on Friday, May 8 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex. The 11-ranked Demon Deacons will serve as host and will play George Washington in the opening round, also on Friday. The Waves own a 4-3 all-time record vs. Florida. The most recent meeting came in 2013, when Pepperdine topped the Gators by a 4-1 tally at the ITA National Indoor Championships. The winners of both duals will play on Saturday, May 9 in the second round at 12 p.m. PT.

The Toreros are set to face No. 38 San Diego State on May 8th at Marks Tennis Stadium at the University of Southern California. After concluding their perfect mark against conference play to capture the West Coast Conference Championship title, the Toreros were selected as an automatic bid. The Toreros defeated the No. 42 Pepperdine Waves 4-1, winning their fifteenth consecutive match. This marks the fifth year in a row the Toreros have made the NCAA Tournament. The last four years the Toreros have reached the second round. San Diego has faced two out of three contenders in their pool earlier this season. While the squad was victorious in a 4-2 decision over the Aztecs, the Trojans prevailed 5-2.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 8-9 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Hurd Tennis Center in Waco, Texas, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 14-19. The event will be hosted by Baylor University.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.