{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Men's Tennis All-Conference Team

April 30, 2010

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The West Coast Conference announced its 2010 All-WCC Men's Tennis team and postseason award winners, as voted on by the conference coaches on Thursday. Pepperdine took home all three postseason honors as senior Bassam Beidas was tabbed WCC Player of the Year, Sebastian Fanselow earned Freshman of the Year, and Coach Adam Steinberg was named Coach of the Year.

This is the second year in a row that the Waves have garnered all three postseason awards and won the WCC title. The Waves continued their dominance at this year's Championship, earning their 20th consecutive WCC title and automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament.

Beidas was a doubles All-American last year after reaching the quarterfinals of the NCAA Championships with former partner Omar Altmann, the 2009 WCC Player of the Year. This season, Beidas went 14-9 at the No. 1 singles spot for the No. 22-ranked Waves, was undefeated in both singles and doubles at the conference tournament, and was ranked as high as No. 32 in the country.

Fanselow played primarily at No. 2 singles for the Waves. He tallied an 11-3 mark from that position and had risen as high as No. 58 in the ITA rankings. Fanselow was also undefeated in conference play.

Coach Steinberg earned his fifth WCC Coach of the Year award, after leading his team to another successful season. Wrapping up his eighth season with Pepperdine, Coach Steinberg has already seen his players turn into All-Americans 12 times and All-WCC first team selections 19 times in singles and 11 times in doubles. He also has had one of his own team members named WCC Player of the Year in each of his eight seasons.

The 2010 All-WCC First Team was selected by the conference coaches, based on overall season performance. All-WCC Second Team members were chosen based on the same criteria, plus performance at the recent WCC Championships. Below is a list of this year's All-WCC team.

All-WCC First Team Singles
Bassam Beidas, PEP
Dean Jackson, USD
Ivan Lopez, LMU
Nikola Bubnic, USD
Sebastian Fanselow, PEP
Thai Tu, USF

All-WCC Second Team Singles
Alex Llompart, PEP
Brian Brogan, SCU
Filip Zivkovic, POR
Kyle Dandan, SCU
Lucas Tirelli, SMC
Roman Dojcak, GON

Honorable Mention Singles
Andrew Kells, SCU
Finn Tearney, PEP
Mark De Castro, USF
Mousheg Hovhannisyahn, PEP
Sherif Hamdy, SMC
Thibaut Visy, USD
Tom Pham, SCU

All-WCC First Team Doubles
Alex Llompart/Bassam Beidas, PEP
Evan Schleining/Filip Zivkovic, POR
Ivan Lopez/Otto Sauer, LMU

All-WCC Second Team Doubles
Asaf Cohen/Thai Tu, USF
Brian Brogan/Jay Wong, SCU
Finn Tearney/Hugh Clarke, PEP

Honorable Mention Doubles
Gavin Leon/Lucas Tirelli, SMC
Roman Dojcak/Scott Sullivan, GON

2010 Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year: Bassam Beidas, PEP
Freshman of the Year: Sebastian Fanselow, PEP
Coach of the Year: Adam Steinberg, PEP