{{ article.title }}

Toreros Aim For Fourth Straight NCAA Tournament Appearance

May 1, 2006

(San Diego, CA) - The USD men's tennis team, ranked all season in the #23 to #40 range, will find out this Wednesday, May 3, who they will face in the 2006 NCAA Championships. The 64-team tournament announcement will be televised on ESPNEWS, located on DirecTV channel 207 and DishNetwork 142. The Toreros, with a record of 15-6, will gather in the Warren Hospitality Suite in the Jenny Craig Pavilion at 5 p.m. to watch the announcement which will air at 5:30 pm. Friends and fans of USD men's tennis are welcome to stop by an join in the celebration. In addition, the ESPNEWS audio signal is available on the ESPNEWS channel on XM Radio and SIRIUS Radio.

This will mark the Toreros fourth straight trip to the NCAA Tournament, a program record, and the fifth straight season with either the team or an individual invited to the tourney. This year's squad, led by a trio of seniors (Pierrick Ysern, Oscar Plotnik, Mirza Koristovic), was ranked as high as No. 23 in the nation this season and earned solid road wins over USC and Boise State. This marks the third straight year that the Toreros have not lost to a non-NCAA Tournament team; the 6th straight year they have been ranked in the top-50 in the nation; and the 10th straight winning season under the direction of Hagedorn.

USD finished 2nd at the recently played West Coast Conference Championships, and senior Pierrick Ysern (Paris, France) is the 2005 NCAA National Runner-up. On the Thursday the NCAA will announce individuals that have earned bids into the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships. Ysern, ranked 42nd, should make his third straight trip in singles. He teams up with Thomas Liversage as the No. 24 ranked doubles team in the nation, and this Torero duo should advance into the 32 team draw. Should this be the case, this would mark just the second time that the USD men's program will have advanced a team, individual and doubles team into the tournament in the same year. The first time was in 1990 when the team advanced to the 2nd Round, and Jose Luis Noriega played in the singles, and teamed with J.R. Edwards in doubles.

First and second round matches will be played on campus sites (TBD) between May 12-17, with the Finals being played at the Taube Tennis Center at Stanford University (May 20-26).