{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference Announces 2013 Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

May 1, 2013

| WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The West Coast Conference announced its 2013 All-WCC Men's Tennis Team and postseason award winners, as voted on by the conference coaches on Tuesday, April 30.

Pepperdine senior Sebastian Fanselow was named the WCC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season after ending the regular season with a 19-6 record at the No. 1 singles position for the Waves. Fanselow is ranked as the No. 8 player in the country, as of the April 23 ITA ranking, and will find out this afternoon if he is selected to compete in the NCAA Men's Tennis Individual Championships.

San Diego (USD) freshman Uros Petronijevic, who arrived to the USD courtesy of Smederevo, Serbia, garnered WCC Freshman of the Year honors after helping the Toreros to a No. 40 ITA ranking and an at-large berth into the NCAA Team Championship. Petronijevic finished the season with an impressive 7-1 in WCC play at the No. 4 position, including a 2-0 singles record at the 2013 WCC Championships. Petronijevic is on a current eight-match win streak.

Pepperdine Head Coach Adam Steinberg has been named WCC Coach of the Year, the second straight year earning the honor, after leading the Waves to both a WCC Regular Season title and WCC Championship title. Pepperdine finished the regular season ranked No. 10 in the ITA rankings and with a record of 24-5. The Waves will host the first and second rounds of the NCAA Team Championship next week, as they face off against UC Santa Barbara on Friday, May 10.

The 2013 All-Conference teams were selected based on overall season performance, including play at the recent WCC Championship. A full list of All-WCC First and Second Team members in singles and doubles, including honorable mention can be found below.

2013 WCC Men's Tennis Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year: Sebastian Fanselow, Pepperdine
Freshman of the Year: Uros Petronijevic, San Diego
Coach of the Year: Adam Steinberg, Pepperdine

All-WCC First Team Singles
Sebastian Fanselow, Pepperdine
Patrick Kawka, BYU
John Lamble, Santa Clara
Alvaro Nazal, Gonzaga
Clarke Spinosa, San Diego
Finn Tearney, Pepperdine

All-WCC Second Team Singles
Ratan Gill, Portland
Jesse Kiuru, Saint Mary's
Bernardo Saraiva, San Francisco
Alex Sarkissian, Pepperdine
Thai Tu, San Francisco
Thibaut Visy, San Diego

Singles Honorable Mention: Francis Alcantara, PEP; Keaton Cullimore, BYU; Michel Hu Kwo, POR; Romain Kalaydjian, USD; Matt Kecki, SCU; Joakim Norstrom, SMC; Uros Petronijevic, USD; Tom Pham, SCU; Francis Sargeant, BYU; Nils Skajaa, USF.

All-WCC First-Team Doubles
Francis Alcantara/Sebastian Fanselow, Pepperdine
Patrick Kawka/Francis Sargeant, BYU
Nils Skajaa/Bernardo Saraiva, San Francisco

All-WCC Second-Team Doubles
Othar Kordsachia/Felix van Kann, Loyola Marymount
Alex Sarkissian/Finn Tearney, Pepperdine
Clarke Spinosa/Thibaut Visy, San Diego

Doubles Honorable Mention: Ratan Gill/Alex Ferrero, POR; Matt Kecki/Tom Pham, SCU; Jesse Kiuru/Joakim Norstrom, SMC; John Lamble/Ilya Ostintsev, SCU.