{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Men's Tennis All-Conference Team

May 3, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - Pepperdine's Andre Begemann was named WCC Player of the Year, while the Waves' Bassam Beidas took home Freshman of the Year honors after helping Pepperdine to the program's 38th conference title last month. Begemann is Pepperdine's 10th consecutive conference player of the year. After leading Saint Mary's to its best WCC Tournament finish in program history, head coach Michael Wayman was named WCC Coach of the Year. The No. 5 seeded Gaels topped Santa Clara to finish third at the WCC Championships and earn Wayman his second coach of the year honors.

Joining Begemann and Beidas on the All-WCC first team was teammate James Lemke. Begemann made earned his second straight all-conference selection. San Diego's Thomas Liversage and San Francisco's Matthew Berry, who were both second team selections last season, also earned first team honors. Saint Mary's Andre Sion rounded out the first team with his first all-conference honors since 2004.

The All-WCC second team featured three Santa Clara players and two San Diego players. Teammates Bobby Rasmussen, Jay Wong and Jan Macek earned second team honors for the Broncos, while Chris Coetzee and Matt Ozurovich made appearances for the Toreros. The Gaels' Joel Kusnierz earned second team honors, giving Saint Mary's its first pair of all-conference singles honorees, while San Francisco's Thong Tu earned his first All-WCC selection.

All three Pepperdine doubles teams earned all-conference honors with Richard Johnson and Omar Altmann, and Andre Begemann and Mahmoud Kamel making the first team, and Bassam Beidas and James Lemke making the second team. Portland's Filip Zivkovic and Colby Jager rounded out the doubles first team. Joining Beidas and Lemke on the second team were San Diego's Chris Coetzee and Thomas Liversage, and Santa Clara's Jan Macek and Bobby Rasmussen.

Santa Clara's Brian Brogan and Blane Shields, Pepperdine's Richard Johnson, Gonzaga's Marco Pineda and San Diego's Charl Wolmarans all earned singles honorable mention recognition. On the doubles side, Gonzaga's Bryce Cooper and Roman Dojcak, and Santa Clara's Brian Brogan and Jay Wong, and Robert Gallman and Blane Shields were recognized with honorable mentions.

Player of the Year: Andre Begemann, Pepperdine
Freshman of the Year: Bassam Beidas, Pepperdine
Coach of the Year: Michael Wayman, Saint Mary's

2007 Men's Singles All-Conference Team

First Team
Bassam Beidas, Pepperdine
Andre Begemann, Pepperdine
Matthew Berry, San Francisco
James Lemke, Pepperdine
Thomas Liversage, San Diego
Andre Sion, Saint Mary's

Second Team
Chris Coetzee, San Diego
Joel Kusnierz, Saint Mary's
Jan Macek, Santa Clara
Matt Ozurovich, San Diego
Bobby Rasmussen, Santa Clara
Thong Tu, San Francisco
Jay Wong, Santa Clara

Honorable Mention
Marco Pineda, GON; Richard Johnson, PEP; Charl Wolmarans, USD; Asaf Cohen, USF; Brian Brogan, SCU; Blane Shields, SCU

2007 Men's Doubles All-Conference Team

First Team
Richard Johnson & Omar Altmann, Pepperdine
Andre Begemann & Mahmoud Kamel, Pepperdine
Filip Zivkovic & Colby Jager, Portland

Second Team
Bassam Beidas & James Lemke, Pepperdine
Chris Coetzee & Thomas Liversage, San Diego
Jan Macek & Bobby Rasmussen, Santa Clara

Honorable Mention
Bryce Cooper & Roman Dojcak, GON; Brian Brogan & Jay Wong, SCU; Robert Gallman & Blane Shields, SCU