{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Men's Tennis All-Conference Team

May 8, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - Pepperdine's Scott Doerner was named WCC Player of the Year for the second straight season, and Waves' Head Coach Adam Steinberg received Coach of the Year honors after piloting Pepperdine to the program's 37th conference title last month. Doerner's selection as the WCC's top player marks the ninth straight year that the conference's Player of the Year honor has been awarded to a Pepperdine player, and marks the first time that an individual has earned back-to-back Player of the Year accolades since former Wave Al Garland received three consecutive honors from 2000-2002. San Diego's Ryo Sekiguchi was named the WCC Freshman of the Year, becoming the first Torero to earn the accolade.

Joining Doerner on the All-WCC first team are Pepperdine teammates Ivor Lovrak and Pedro Rico. Rico was named to the all-conference first team for the fourth straight year, as was San Diego's Pierrick Ysern. Rounding out the first team selections are Portland's Matthew Loucks and Santa Clara's Jan Macek, both of whom earned All-WCC first team honors for the first time.

Conference coaches selected a second team All-WCC squad for the first time in league history, and Pepperdine and San Diego each landed two players on the squad. Wave teammates Omar Altmann and Andre Begemann picked up All-WCC honors, along with Torero standouts Thomas Liversage and Oscar Plotnik. LMU's Nico Terrien and San Francisco's Matthew Berry round out the All-WCC second team honors.

The doubles duo of Doerner and Begemann, the No. 3 ranked tandem in the nation, were named to the All-WCC first team for doubles along with the fellow Pepperdine tandem of Lovrak and Rico. San Diego's pairing of Liversasge and Ysern, currently ranked No. 24 in the nation for doubles, round out the All-WCC first team.

Three different programs placed doubles duos on the All-WCC second team, with Portland's James Redpath earning All-WCC honors for the second season along with partner Scott Kennel. Pepperdine's Altmann and Richard Johnson were the third Wave duo to receive All-WCC honors this season, and Santa Clara's Kevin McQuaid and Blaine Shields earned second team honors for the first time.

Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Scott Doerner, Pepperdine
Freshman of the Year: Ryo Sekiguchi, San Diego
Coach of the Year: Adam Steinberg, Pepperdine

2006 Men's Singles All-Conference Team

First Team
Scott Doerner, Pepperdine
Matthew Loucks, Portland
Ivor Lovrak, Pepperdine
Jan Macek, Santa Clara
Pedro Rico, Pepperdine
Pierrick Ysern, San Diego

Second Team
Omar Altmann, Pepperdine
Andre Begemann, Pepperdine
Matthew Berry, San Francisco
Thomas Liversage, San Diego
Oscar Plotnik, San Diego
Nico Terrien, Loyola Marymount

Honorable Mention
Reyniere Roxas, LMU; Mike Wojnarowicz, LMU; Richard Johnson, PEP; Achim Christner, SMC; Martin Marechal, SMC; Julien Tizot, SMC; Ryo Sekiguchi, USD; Korbinian Kramer, USF; Thong Tu, USF; Brian Brogan, SCU; Tommy Hicks, SCU

2006 Men's Doubles All-Conference Team

First Team
Scott Doerner & Andre Begemann, Pepperdine
Ivor Lovrak & Pedro Rico, Pepperdine
Thomas Liversage & Pierrick Ysern, San Diego

Second Team
James Redpath & Scott Kennel, Portland
Omar Altmann & Richard Johnson, Pepperdine
Kevin McQuaid & Blaine Shields, Santa Clara

Honorable Mention
Michael Chan & Nico Terrien, LMU; Yury Platonov & Achim Christner, SMC; Martin Marechal & Julien Tizot, SMC; Jan Macek & Bobby Rasmussen, SCU