{{ article.title }}

Scott Doerner and Head Coach Adam Steinberg Earn Top WCC Honors

May 8, 2006

Malibu, Calif. - Pepperdine men's tennis player Scott Doerner was named the West Coast Conference (WCC) Player of the Year for the second straight season, while head coach Adam Steinberg was tabbed the Coach of the Year after leading the Waves to their 16th straight WCC title and a No. 2 national ranking, the conference office announced Monday.

The senior's selection marks the ninth straight year that a Pepperdine player as earned the top honor and also marks the first time an individual has earned back-to-back Player of the Year awards since former Wave Al Garland, who received three consecutive honors from 2000-2002. The Melbourne, Australia native finished the regular season with a 21-6 record competing exclusively at the No. 1 position and earned a national ranking of No. 8.

Joining Doerner on the All-WCC first team are senior teammates Pedro Rico and Ivor Lovrak. Rico, who went 23-4 including a 7-2 record against nationally ranked opponents, was named to the all-conference first team for the fourth straight year, while Lovrak was named to the squad for the first time.

Two Wave newcomers earned on a spot on the first-ever All-WCC second team. Sophomore Andre Begemann and freshman Omar Altmann were both recognized for their seasons as they compiled a 43-12 combined record during the regular season.

Pepperdine's top three doubles teams earned WCC accolades as the No. 3-ranked duo of Doerner and Begemann were named to the All-WCC first team, along with the Pepperdine team of Rico and Lovrak. Altmann and junior Richard Johnson were named to the second team. Johnson also received an honorable mention in singles.

For the second straight year, Steinberg earned the Coach of the Year honor as he leads the Waves into the postseason with a 30-2 overall record, which marks the best regular-season record in Steinberg's career.

Also earning individual awards was San Diego's Ryo Sekiguchi, who was tabbed the conference's Freshman of the Year.