{{ article.title }}

Adam Steinberg Voted 2005-06 Pepperdine Coach of the Year

Aug. 25, 2006

Malibu, Calif. - Adam Steinberg, who directed the Pepperdine men's tennis team to its first-ever national championship in 2006, was honored as the University's 2005-06 "Coach of the Year" in a vote of his fellow head coaches, Director of Athletics John Watson announced today.

Steinberg, in his fourth season leading the men's tennis program, guided the Waves to a 36-2 overall record and capped the year by defeating Georgia, 4-2, in a tense match at Stanford's Taube Tennis Center on May 23. The Waves posted NCAA Tournament victories over Montana State, Texas Christian, Florida, UCLA and Georgia as they ended the year with 10 straight wins.

Pepperdine avenged its only two losses of the year by defeating Texas and Georgia in the semi-finals and finals, respectively. The Waves' previous best finishes at the NCAA Tournament came in 1982 and 1986 when they finished as runner-ups.

En route to winning its 37th West Coast Conference (WCC) title, Pepperdine set a single-season school record with 36 victories and had two different 13-match winning streaks.

For the first time in his career, Steinberg was named the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's (ITA) National "Coach of the Year" and IT West Region "Coach of the Year." He also was tabbed the WCC's "Coach of the Year" for the second consecutive year. Individually, senior Scott Doerner earned All-American honors in singles and was selected the WCC's "Player of the Year." Doerner, along with Andre Begemann, garnered All-American accolades in doubles.

During his career at Pepperdine, Steinberg has led Pepperdine to an overall record of 96-25 (.793), four NCAA Tournament appearances and two Top 10 national rankings. He guided the Waves to a 24-3 record and No. 8 national ranking in 2005.

This year's selection marks the fourth time a men's tennis coach has been selected Pepperdine's "Coach of the Year." In addition to Steinberg, Peter Smith was honored in 2001 while University Hall of Fame inductee Allen Fox received the award in 1988 and 1995.