{{ article.title }}

National Champion Men's Tennis Team Honored at University Convocation

Aug. 31, 2006

Malibu, Calif. - The 2006 National Champion men's tennis team was honored yesterday in front of students, faculty and staff. President Andrew Benton and Athletic Director John Watson presented head coach Adam Steinberg and his team with their championship rings, and unveiled their championship banner in Firestone Fieldhouse.

"I was delighted the President of the University decided to honor the accomplishment of our men's tennis team at the first University Convocation," Watson expressed. "It allowed the faculty and students to express their congratulations and the team to express appreciation for all the support the campus community provides. It was a wonderful and memorable experience."

The men's tennis team garnered the program's first-ever title and the University's ninth overall. The 2006 championship team included seniors Kevin Borzenski, Scott Doerner, Ivor Lovrak and Pedro Rico, junior Richard Johnson, sophomores Oliver Hyams and Andre Begemann and freshmen Troy Aiken and Omar Altmann.

The Waves concluded their exceptional season with a 36-2 record after avenging their two losses of the season in the last two matches against Texas, in the semifinal, and Georgia, in the final match.

"It was a memory that will last forever, said Steinberg. "It meant so much to us to share this Championship with the student body. We all felt like we won the title again yesterday."

The men's tennis team kicks off action this fall on Fri., October 13 at the Midland Invitational in Midland, Texas.