{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine to Host Wilson/ITA Regional Tennis Championship

Oct. 17, 2006

Malibu, Calif. - Pepperdine University will be hosting the Wilson/Intercollegiate Tennis Association Western Region (South) Men's Regional Championships from October 18-23. The singles and doubles champions from this event will earn spots in the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships hosted by The Ohio State University from November 2-5.

The qualifying singles will begin on Wednesday at 10 a.m. with four players advancing to the main draw, while the first round of doubles kicks off later that day at 4 p.m. The singles main draw is slated for Thursday at 10 a.m. Championship matches for singles and doubles will be held on Monday at 10 a.m. and noon, respectively.

In addition to host Pepperdine, the event will feature the top players from Division I schools from UCLA, USC, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara, Loyola Marymount, San Diego, San Diego State, University of Arizona and Arizona State.

UCLA holds four of the top eight seeds in singles, including No. 1-seed Ben Kohlloeffel and No. 2-seed Chris Surapol along with fifth-seeded Mathieu Dehaine and sixth-seeded Haythem Abid. USC's Jamil Al-Agba and San Diego State's Chris Groh are seeded third and fourth, respecitevly, while Markus Dickhardt of San Diego State and Pepperdine's Andre Begemann round out the Top 8.

The top four seeds in doubles are Al-Agba and Dejan Cvetkovic of USC, Pepperdine's Andre Begemann and Omar Altmann, Chris Groh and Markus Dickhardt of San Diego State and UCLA's Kohlloeffel and Michael Look.

Pepperdine's Troy Aiken and Oliver Hyams will compete in the qualifying singles. Aiken takes on Josh Finkelstein of UCSB, while Hyams, who received a first-round bye, will face Nick Perez of LMU in the second round at 10 a.m.

After a first-round bye, Begemann and Altmann begin are set to face Arizona's Alex Labrosse and Francois VanderMerve at 9 a.m on Thursday and will begin singles play on Thursday at 11 a.m., while senior Richard Johnson plays at 12:30 p.m.

Complete draws and results are available at www.pepperdinesports.com.