{{ article.title }}

Bronco Men's Tennis Heads to ITA Regionals

Oct. 19, 2006

Santa Clara, Calif. - The Santa Clara Bronco men's tennis team begins play on Friday at the ITA Regionals in Palo Alto on the campus of Stanford University. The event will include the top players from 15 schools in the Nortwest Region. For more information and daily results regarding this tournament go to the following website: www.tennisinformation.com/tourny/5/1/7/0/8/1/9/draws

In singles play, the Broncos have eight players entered in the main draw, two in each bracket. Blane Shields and Kenzo Hirakawa-Wong are grouped together, while the other pairings are Tommy Hicks and Bobby Rasmussen, Kevin McQuaid and Brian Brogan and Steven Benvenuto and Jay Wong. Seven players begin play in the Round of 128, while Brian Brogan received a bye to the Round of 64. Singles play begins on Friday.

In doubles, head coach George Husack will count on the following teams, Hirakawa-Wong and Aneal Vallurupalli, Benvenuto and Rasmussen, Brogan and Wong and the top doubles team of Shields and McQuaid. After taking last weekend off, Shields and McQuaid hope to be at their best this weekend. All four doubles teams begin play on Friday.

The singles and doubles champion from this event will earn spots in the November 2-5 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships hosted by The Ohio State University at the Racquet Club of Columbus. Only the singles and doubles champions (and not the singles finalists) from the men's ITA Western Region North (Stanford) and South (Pepperdine) Championships are given automatic berths into the ITA National Intercollegiates.

Along with Santa Clara the event will feature the top players from Division I schools: Stanford, Cal Poly, Saint Mary's, Sacramento State, Cal, Washington, Pacific, Oregon, Gonzaga, Hawaii, USF, UC Davis, Fresno State and Nevada. This week's top seeds are: 1. Alex Slovic (Washington), 2. Pierre Mouillon (Cal), 3. Andreas Weber (Hawaii), 4. Jakub Chech (Fresno State) 5. Patrik Fischer (Washington), 6. Kalim Stewart (Cal), 7. Richard Wire (Stanford), 8. Daniel Chu (Washington).