{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine Men's Tennis Championship Nominated as one of Top Sports Moments of 2006

Dec. 18, 2006

Malibu, Calif. - The Pepperdine men's tennis team's national championship victory over Georgia last May was one of three of the top moments nominated in the category of Division I schools, excluding UCLA and USC, by the Los Angeles Sports Council, it was announced on Monday. Southern California sports fans now will help select the greatest moments in sports for 2006 in the Los Angeles/Orange County area through balloting at www.lasports.org.

Voting will take place from December 18 - January 8, and the winners will be revealed at the Sports Council's annual LA Sports Awards event on Sunday, January 21, 2007. Fans will have the opportunity to vote in 18 different award categories.

The awards gala will be televised live on FSN PRIME TICKET starting at 8 p.m. PST from the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills. The star-studded show will be co-emceed by FSN's Bill Macdonald and Petros Papadakis.

Each specific team, university or association provided three nominated moments per category. Fans may vote in any or all of 18 categories, but are not permitted to vote more than once.

The Pepperdine men's tennis team is competing against UC Irvine's 21-consecutive game match win streak en route to finishing second at the NCAA Championships and the Long Beach State men's basketball team's 75-73 last-second win over UC Irvine in the Big West Conference Tournament semi-finals.

Capping a 36-2 season, Pepperdine claimed its first national championship in men's tennis. Coach Adam Steinberg was named National Coach of the Year as the Waves avenged their only two losses of the season by defeating Texas and Georgia in the national semifinals and finals, respectively, at Stanford.

Additionally, a blue-ribbon media panel will select and rank the overall Top 10 moments of the year and also will select the Sportsman, Sportswoman, Sports Executive and overall Greatest Moment of the Year. Those winners will be announced on the telecast as well.

The concept of a moment is loosely defined. It can be a specific instant in time (such as a winning goal, hit or shot), an individual or team milestone, an upset victory, a remarkable game, a special event or a career achievement. Nominated moments must have taken place in the local area, or have involved a local athlete or team.

To vote, go to www.lasports.org and click on the Greatest Moments icon at the top of the home page.

The "greatest moments" concept dates to 1995, when the Sports Council created a special event celebrating the "100 Greatest Moments in Los Angeles Sports History." Kirk Gibson's 1988 World Series home run was voted the No. 1 all-time moment.

This year's event program will include a dinner, followed by the award presentations and video highlights. Winners will receive awards specially created by Tiffany & Co. for the occasion.

The "Greatest Moments" event will be a fundraiser for the non-profit Sports Council, which will utilize the proceeds to further its mission of promoting economic development through sports in Southern California.

For dinner ticket information, contact Monica Maldonado at (213) 482-6352.

Greatest Sports Moments of 2006"
Presented by the Los Angeles Sports Council

Award Categories

Greatest Moment of the Year for each of the following:
(As Selected by Fan Voting)

1. Angels
2. Avengers
3. Chivas USA
4. Clippers
5. Dodgers
6. Ducks
7. Galaxy
8. Golf
9. Horse Racing
10. Kings
11. Lakers
12. Motor Sports
13. Olympic Sports
14. Sparks
15. Tennis
16. UCLA
17. USC
18. Division I Schools

(As Selected by Media Panel)
Overall Greatest Moment of the Year
Sportsman of the Year
Sportswoman of the Year
Sports Executive of the Year