{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine Well Represented on MPSF's 15-Year Anniversary Teams

April 20, 2007

MALIBU, Calif. -

Complete MPSF 15-Year Anniversary Team
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Six former Pepperdine men's volleyball players, along with current head coach Marv Dunphy were recognized Friday when the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) announced its 15-year Anniversary Teams.

Two-time NCAA National Player of the Year George Roumain (1996-99) and 2005 National Player of the Year Sean Rooney (2002-05) were joined by UCLA's Jeff Nygaard and Brandon Taliaferro, BYU's Ryan Millar, Long Beach State's Brent Hilliard and Stanford's Mike Lambert on the first team.

Roumain was a three-time All-MPSF first team selection out of Parkland, Fla. As well as being a three-time first team All-American at opposite, he was tabbed Player of the Year in 1998 and 1999. With 2,394 kills, he is Pepperdine's all-time leader.

Rooney ranks third in program history with 2,007 career kills and ranks eighth all-time in hitting percentage at .382. During the Wheaton, Ill. native's four-year career at outside hitter, Pepperdine advanced to the NCAA Championship Tournament three times, including winning the program's fifth national title in 2005 where he was voted the tournament's Most Valuable Player. Rooney ended his career fourth in service aces (131) and in digs (629). Rooney was honored as a first team All-American three times.

Tom Sorenson (1990-93) enjoyed a stellar career at opposite while in Malibu. His 2,207 kills are second in program history, while his 155 service aces also ranks second. The Racine, Wisc. native finished his career ranked fifth in total blocks with 103 solo and 361 assists.

Pepperdine's all-time block and service ace leader Brad Keenan (2000-2003) earned a spot on the third team. Keenan ended his career ninth in all-time kills with 1,199 from the middle blocker position and hit at a .440 clip, third all-time. The Westminster, Calif. native amassed 187 aces during his career to go along with 743 blocks in leading Pepperdine to three NCAA Championship Tournament appearances. Keenan was a two-time first team All-American selection.

Olympian Chip McCaw (1992-1995) and Andy Hein (2003-06) both received honorable mention honors. McCaw set Pepperdine to the national title in 1992 and was a first team All-American selection in 1994. Hein was a two-time first team All-American during his career and holds the all-time record for career hitting percentage of .483. The Carroll Stream, Ill. native also ranks second in career blocks with 533.

Head coach Marv Dunphy has guided Pepperdine to a 451-171 record during his 24 years as head coach and was one of two coaches recognized, along with UCLA's Al Scates. During his tenure, the Topanga Canyon, Calif. native has led the Waves to four national titles, had 16 first team All-American honorees, coached 19 US National Team members and eight Olympic team members who have gone on to win six Gold Medals. Earlier this week, Dunphy picked up his third MPSF Coach of the Year award.

Pepperdine will return to action Thurs., April 26 at 5:30 p.m. PDT when it plays in the first of two MPSF Tournament semifinal matches at Firestone Fieldhouse. All-session ticket packages for next weekend's matches are on sale at the Pepperdine ticket office for $25 and may be purchased by calling 1-866-WAVE TIX.