{{ article.title }}

Marv Dunphy Named 2004-05 Pepperdine Coach of the Year

Aug. 30, 2005

Malibu, Calif. - Marv Dunphy, who directed the Pepperdine men's volleyball team to its fifth national championship in 2005, was honored as the University's 2004-05 "Coach of the Year" in a vote of his fellow head coaches, Director of Athletics John Watson announced today.

Dunphy, in his 22nd season leading the men's volleyball program, guided the Waves to a 25-2 overall record and capped the year by defeating UCLA in five games at Pauley Pavilion to claim the program's fifth national title. The national title came exactly 20 years after the Waves won their second national championship when they defeated USC at Pauley Pavilion to conclude the 1985 season with an identical 25-2 mark.

En route to winning its sixth Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) title, Pepperdine tied a single-season school record with 15 straight victories and concluded the year with a perfect 14-0 mark.

For the first time in his career, Dunphy was named the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) "National Coach of the Year" in addition to being tabbed MPSF "Coach of the Year." Senior Sean Rooney and rookie Jonathan Winder were selected the AVCA's "National Player of the Year" and "National Freshman of the Year", respectively and were also chosen the MPSF's "Player of the Year" and "Freshman of the Year."

During his career at Pepperdine, Dunphy has led Pepperdine an overall record of 409-162 (.716), four national titles (1978, 1985, 1991 and 2005), four NCAA runner-up finishes (1983, 1984, 1998 and 2002) and six MPSF titles.

This year's selection marks the third time in his career that Dunphy has been selected Pepperdine's "Coach of the Year." He previously was honored in 1992 and 2002. In 1992 he shared the honor with baseball coach Andy Lopez after both coaches guided their teams to national championships.

Dunphy joins women's volleyball coach Nina Matthies as the only two Pepperdine coaches to receive the honor on three different occasions. Matthies was honored in 1990, 1996 and 2004.