{{ article.title }}

Commissioner Michael Gilleran announced the 2003 WCC all-conference volleyball team today, which is highlighted by one school claiming a piece of all four individual honors

Nov. 26-Commissioner Michael Gilleran announced the 2003 WCC all-conference volleyball team today, which is highlighted by one school claiming a piece of all four individual honors. The Pepperdine Waves capped off an undefeated league season by earning at least a share of all four of the league?s individual honors, including a couple of repeat performers. Pepperdine all-American Katie Wilkins garnered WCC Player of the Year honors for the third consecutive season. Wilkins became the first-ever three-time WCC volleyball Player of the Year after averaging 5.33 kills per game and posting a .300 hitting percentage in conference play. Pepperdine?s Sophia Milo earned WCC Freshman of the Year honors keeping the award in Malibu for the second straight season (teammate Breegan Mulligan shared the honor in 2002). Co-Defensive Player of the Year honors went to a pair of liberos in Pepperdine?s Christine Hinds and San Diego?s Jackie Bernadin.

Head Coach Nina Mathies led the Waves to a 14-0 record for the third straight season in a highly competitive West Coast Conference. For that, Mathies earned WCC Coach of the Year honors for the third straight season and the fifth time in six years (Mathies shared the honor in 1998). All the honors are voted on by the league coaches and based solely on athletic achievement in league competition.

This year?s First Team All-WCC includes five three-time all-conference honorees. Pepperdine?s Wilkins and Lindsey Hache?, Santa Clara?s Becky Potter, San Diego?s Devon Forster and LMU?s Kealani Kimball have been honored as first teamers the last three seasons. Saint Mary?s Jill Parmele, LMU?s Kelli Nerison, Pepperdine?s Melissa Melhorn and Portland?s Heather Denison are all first-time honorees. Denison is the first Pilots volleyball player to ever earn first team honors.

Player of the Year:
Katie Wilkins, Sr., OH, Pepperdine

Defensive Player of the Year:
Christina Hinds, Jr., L, Pepperdine
Jackie Bernardin, So., L, San Diego

Freshman of the Year:
Sophia Milo, MB, Pepperdine

Coach of the Year:
Nina Mathies, Pepperdine

First Team
Name Pos. Yr. Hometown
Brittanie Budinger, USF OH Sr. Encinitas, Calif.
Heather Denison, POR OH Sr. Gladstone, Ore.
Devon Forster, USD OH Jr. Boulder, Colo.
Lyndsey Hache?, PEP MB Sr. Chino Hills, Calif.
Kealani Kimball, LMU OH Sr. Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Melissa Melhorn, PEP S So. Tempe, Ariz.
Toni Muratore, SCU OH So. Merced, Calif.
Kelli Nerison, LMU MB Jr. Laguna Nigel, Calif.
Jill Parmele, SMC OH Sr. Acampo, Calif.
Becky Potter, SCU MB Sr. Clovis, Calif.
Kelli Sousa, SCU S Sr. Castro Valley, Calif.
Katie Wilkins, PEP OH Sr. Lakeside, Calif. Honorable Mention
Abbey Cullen, GON; Tiana Newsome, LMU; Nicole Oehlman, LMU; Katy Daly, PEP; Sophia Milo, PEP; Sara Verycrussen, POR; Kaui Salzman, SMC; Kristen Hurst, USD; Emily Haas, USD; Lindsey Sherburne, USD; Chrstie Dawson, USD; Teresa Russell, USF; Carolina Skacel, USF; Theresa Hart, USF; Becky Biniek, SCU; Cassie Perret, SCU